Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake

I ran across Polenta at my Fresh Market trip the other day. I’ve heard of it plenty of times and seen it used on Food Network before, but I’ve never actually eaten polenta.

DSC_1640

I found this recipe online and had most of the basic ingredients at home so I decided to give it a try.

First I started off with a huge pile of veggies (summer squash, zucchini, carrots and onion).

DSC_1634
Come to think of it, alot of my recipes start off with “a huge pile of veggies”.

I sautéed the veggies in a little olive oil and added salt and pepper.

 DSC_1641
Once the veggies cooked down some, I added a huge pile of fresh spinach and 1 cup of spaghetti sauce and cooked about 5 minutes longer.

DSC_1646 
Cut the polenta into approx. 1/2 in. thick slices and layered them in a 9 x 13 baking dish. Some of the slices look wet because I started off trying to brown them in olive oil, but I didn’t like the amount of oil they were soaking up so I decided to leave the rest “as is”.

DSC_1647
Layer the veggies and sauce combo over the polenta and top with cheese. The only mozzarella I had in the house was string cheese, so I made do with what I had plus a little shredded cheddar. I tried to go kinda light on the cheese.

DSC_1652

Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Cheesy veggie perfection!

DSC_1655

I ate about 1/6 of the pan with lots of roasted broccoli and brussel sprouts on the side.

DSC_1662

Think I could have squeezed any more veggies on my plate? Haha. I was afraid it was going to be pretty bland since I didn’t add any extra seasonings other than a little salt and pepper and a sprinkle of garlic powder at the end, but it was actually just right!

Other than the cheese, this is actually a really low calorie/low fat entree. Polenta is only 70 calories and no fat per serving. It had so much flavor and yummy vegetables that I probably could have done without the melted cheese and just added a sprinkle of grated parmesan at the end.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, pictures, Recipes

2 responses to “Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake

  1. Allison

    So trying this. I dont’ care what my meat loving husband has to say. That looks good!

Leave a Reply

