Deceptive Cooking

I’ve been doing deceptive cooking since before I ever knew there are actually books about it. I’ve been hiding healthy foods in the toddler’s smoothies and pancakes forever now. I was really excited when I found out about Deceptively Delicious and The Sneaky Chef.

DSC_1622

The basic idea is to hide healthy fruits and vegetables inside kid’s favorite foods to enhance their nutritional value and cut out on mealtime battles. This is done mostly done through purees.

Today I planned on pureeing some Butternut Squash for future use in some of the recipes. I’ve actually never cooked Butternut Squash but it was really similar to other squashes that I have cooked before.

DSC_1602

I cut the stems off, scraped out the seeds, put the cut side down on a baking dish and baked at 400 degrees for 55 minutes.

DSC_1604

It was really easy to get the flesh out of the “shell”, it just peeled right off. I didn’t even have to scoop it out with a spoon. I pureed the squash in my food processor for about 2 minutes.

By the time I did all this it was getting really close to lunch. I was planning on making some deceptive Cheese Quesadillas with pureed sweet potato and carrots, but instead I decided to use the squash I’d just cooked.

I smeared the puree on my tortillas and topped with a mixture of grilled onions and mushrooms as well as corn and black beans and added a bit of shredded cheese.

DSC_1613

For Lincoln’s portion I just threw all of the ingredients back inside the food processor and pureed it up again so that he wouldn’t see the onions, beans and mushrooms.

DSC_1615

They turned out really tasty! I’ll definitely be making this combo again. I served mine with sour cream, salsa and a little shredded lettuce as well as a cup of veggie soup on the side.

DSC_1618

Do you have any favorite deceptive recipes? I’m always looking for new ideas.

2 Comments

Filed under Deceptive Cooking, Food, pictures, Recipes

2 responses to “Deceptive Cooking

  1. I don’t know WHY I haven’t thought to put the whole darn thing IN the food processor! I have been using these books for a couple of years now and I never thought to puree up the ingredients with the cheese, chicken, whatever IN the quesadilla! DUH! Thank you 🙂 I love your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

