Father’s Day Eggs Benny

I got tasked with cooking Father’s Day brunch today. The Hubby requested Eggs Benedict. I’ve always loved Eggs Benedict but it just isn’t the same without the Canadian bacon. I’ve also been trying to be more conscious of my fat intake after being diagnosed with gallstones to hopefully avoid another attack. As much as I love Hollandaise sauce, its pretty much straight fat with all the butter and eggs.

I researched some new ways to make Eggs Benedict vegetarian style and what I finally decided on was this recipe.

Basically you top toasted english muffins with thick slices of roasted eggplant, tomato, a poached egg and a little pesto. I love pesto, but I would never think to eat it on eggs. It definitely works though!

I didn’t make homemade pesto since I already had some store bought pesto that I picked up at Costco. That definitely cut down on time. I figured although the oil in the pesto contains fat that it would be healthier fat than the butter + eggs in Hollandaise. I served it with the perfect brunch drink … Mimosas. 🙂

100_0212

Isn’t that pretty?

100_0208

You should definitely give this special breakfast a try if you are a fan of the Egg Benny.

Happy Father’s Day to all the wonderful Daddy’s out there!

Thank you Tim for being the best father to our son that I could ever ask for. You are amazing!

1 Comment

Filed under Food, pictures, Recipes, Special Occasions

One response to “Father’s Day Eggs Benny

Leave a Reply

