Recovering

The hubby informed me tonight that I left my blog readers on a cliffhanger after my surgery. I’m glad to report that I made it through the surgery without complication other than some more intense than usual pain. I have a history of crazy things happening to me, so the pain really was the least of my worries. I kept worrying that I might have said something stupid while I was under anesthesia, I can’t even imagine how many times I must have asked if I had said anything embarrassing.

Yesterday I was pretty much in a fog all day. I was needing my pain medication around the clock as soon as I could safely take it.

Today has been somewhat better. Other than an upset stomach and some mild depression, I’ve felt more like myself. I always get somewhat depressed when I’m out of commission for a while. I tend to feel guilty for not doing “my part” around the house and with the baby.

I also feel really depressed about not being able to exercise. This is the longest I’ve gone without serious physical activity in about a year and a half. I’m hoping to go for a good walk tomorrow, and maybe try the elliptical soon. I think its still going to be a while before I’m ready to run again though.

I didn’t intend for this to turn into a big complaint session. I’ll try to be more positive next time.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Recovering

  1. Hi Amanda, I hope you are feeling better soon! Don’t be so hard on yourself, you need to make sure you don’t push it too much so that you don’t elongate your recovery period.

    I can understand the depression. 😦 Hang in there, for what its worth, remember it is temporary and you are loved! Try to enjoy whatever there is to enjoy about it–the feeling of being loved by those who serve you? Sometimes we have to take a turn being the ones to receive service instead of giving it.

    I enjoy your blog, I hope you’ll keep posting! I hope you have a wonderful, cheery day today. Maybe spend sometime outside? I’m going to try to–even though it might be a hot one. I’m thinking: sitting in the shade while my kiddos play in the sprinkler. 🙂 Happy Independence Day and Smooth Recovery to you! Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

