That’s More Like It

I’ve felt more like myself today since the surgery than any other day so far. I did alot of housework, cooked, played with Lincoln … I even walked on my treadmill. I walked 2 miles at a 10% incline at 3.6 mph. Easy peasy! I got a chance to catch up on some of my Grey’s Anatomy while I walked. I actually felt so good that I tried to jog, but after about 5 seconds I realized that wasn’t going to happen yet. It felt really good to get the blood flowing again though and it did wonders for me mentally.

I’ve been in a funky depressed mood lately and that is totally not me. Today felt better.

Tonight I decided to try my hand at making my own Artisan Baguette bread. I wanted something to go with my super cheap Lentil Soup recipe that I made a few days ago. I’m probably the only 20-something year old that I know that owns a bread machine and uses it only a regular basis. I wasn’t prepared for the 5 hours the bread would take to make, so I took a short cut and let it rise for only 3 hours instead. It still turned out perfect!

DSC_1786

Between the two of us, we ate an entire loaf! (The recipe made two loaves). I’m not sure of the per loaf price because I can’t for the life of me remember how much my bread flour cost, but I’m sure it worked out cheaper than buying a loaf at about $2-$4 each from the bakery.

Lentil soup, corn on the cob and bread. Kind of a strange combo, but it worked.

DSC_1781

Here’s hoping tomorrow is even better than today. I *might* give the elliptical a shot soon.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Frugality, Medical Issues

2 responses to “That’s More Like It

  1. Abi

    Okay, so if you’re the only twenty-something who uses a bread machine regularly, then I’m the only thirty-something who uses a bread machine regularly. 🙂 I make tons of pizza crust, cinnamon roll dough, dinner rolls, etc. I’ve had that bad boy for like 14 years–still going strong. 🙂

  2. Allison

    I’m 25 and use my bread machine everyday! In fact I haven’t bought store bread in several months!

Leave a Reply

