Happy … July 5th?

I’m in a happy place today. Despite having a crappy nights sleep, I feel like today has been pretty great. I woke up super early after tossing and turning with strange dreams most of the night. I decided to make “perfect oatmeal” and read some of this blog that has been intriguing me about a guy who ate “healthy” off of $1 a day for one month.

My oatmeal pre-stir:

DSC_1791

Contained:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • blueberries
  • 1/4 trail mix
  • cinnamon
  • drizzle of syrup

Post stir:

DSC_1794

Mid-morning I met my Nana at the mall for some clothes shopping.

DSC_1799

I’m not sure if I can technically count it towards my wardrobe I vowed to buy myself in my 101 in 1001 list since my gracious grandmother bought it for me, but I ended up with 8 shirts, 5 pairs of capris/jeans, and a dress. Love you Nana!

For lunch we stopped at the Food Court in the mall and I was excited to see some vegetarian options. As a newbie on the vegetarian front there are lots of situations I haven’t had to face yet, but this is what I got.

DSC_1796

A veggie wrap from Falafel Express. I didn’t really know what the veggie wrap would involve, but it turns out it wasn’t as healthy as it sounded with all the cheese, tzatziki, and fried falafel on it. And of course the fries. I guess this was the true test of how I’d fare without my gallbladder. It was 2:00 by this point and I was HANGRY, so health wasn’t the first thing on my mind.

I ate the whole wrap and about half of the fries. While I felt a little rumbly in the tumbly it certainly wasn’t the death and destruction I feared without my gallbladder. (The gallbladder processes the fat consumed in ones diet and breaks it down before passing on to the intestines, without it some people have chronic diarrhea when eating fatty foods). Yummy, huh?

I decided to try the elliptical today and see how that would go since I still can’t run yet. I did an awesome 1 hour and 5.6 miles!!! No pain! I felt on top on the world. I feel like soon I’ll be back running like I never missed a beat, but until then atleast I have my 2nd love, the elliptical, as an option.

Dinner was a veggie plate. I worked up quite an appetite on the elliptical and I definitely threw down in the kitchen tonight.

DSC_1802

  • Mashed curried sweet potatoes
  • Roasted broccoli
  • Corn on the Cob
  • French Baguette

I ended up eating about twice the amount of bread shown, and two beers. What can I say? This girl has an appetite!

Tim and I have been playing a game lately to try to estimate what our meals cost us to make. We estimated this meal to cost less than $5.00 for the both of us.

$0.30 for 2 ears of corn, about $.50 for the bread or less, maybe $1.00 for the broccoli, I really have no idea how much sweet potatoes cost, but I used 1 fairly large one … lets just guess $1. Thats what? … $2.80 for the food and then about $1 each for the beer.

It was a good day, all the way around.

7 Comments

Filed under Clothing, family, Food, Frugality, pictures, Shopping

7 responses to “Happy … July 5th?

  1. I cut our dryer sheets in 1/2. They seem to do the same job! I started doing it when I was at the store one time and couldn’t find fragrance free sheets. I used half and now I find it’s another way to save money, even when I do find the fragrance free ones!

    • Oooo, good idea Wendy! I actually rarely ever use dryer sheets at all, but thats a great tip. Lately I’ve been reusing Ziploc bags. It seems silly to throw them away when all I had in them was a couple crackers or something clean-ish.

  2. Really good idea! I often think of that when I throw out the Ziploc baggies, plus it’s not eco-friendly.

    I have to say, I’m loving this blog topic of saving money! It was a shocker when I quit working, but I’ve stayed home full time for 3 years now! Sure, we’re not running to the beach every weekend or taking cruises, but we do have a fun blow up slide in the backyard and we go with our friends to the pool once in awhile. But Sam also loves to feed the ducks, no cost (just stale or leftover bread) AND it’s a family outing!!

    • I’ve always dreamed about being a stay at home mom, but this unexpected time off of work has really thrown me for a loop mentally. You might just find that my blogs may become more and more about saving money if they don’t let me go back to work soon. LOL I might have to change the name of my blog. 😛

      • Well money saving blogs certainly are OKAY with me 🙂

        I started a blog for triathlons/training/nutrition more b/c I want to follow my own progress, lol! But I love this blog, I’ve told a lot of people about it. They are automatically hooked with I tell them how much weight you lost! I think you’re and AWESOME inspiration! Keep it up girly!

      • Thanks chick! What is your blog address? I’d love to follow it!

  3. Pingback: Reason to Celebrate! « Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

