It Doesn’t Take Much

It doesn’t take much to excite me. I get thrilled by the simplest of things. Today has definitely been thrilling already.

I had a crazy dream last night and woke up in a panic at about 4:30 this morning. Since my alarm was set to go off at 5:00 anyway I just stayed up and diddled around on the internet for a while.

The hubby and I met up with some R3 friends this morning at my favorite park for a group run.

DSC_1987

The group meets every Saturday at 6:30 am, but I’ve never been up early enough on a Saturday to go. I think I’m going to start making a serious effort to make it a regular thing though. It definitely started my day off right and I’ve been in a great mood ever since.

I ran an easy 4 miles in 36:52. A nice recovery pace.

It was so nice to get back out on the road! I’ve been treadmillin’ it for so long now because I can’t get my ass out of bed early enough to beat the heat that I had almost forgotten how much I love the roads!

My route:

Shakespeare

I love seeing those little maps of where I ran. See … it doesn’t take much.

After our run we headed over to the Farmer’s Market and to run a few more errands.

DSC_1996 
I was in a silly mood.

There was so many delicious local fruits and veggies at the Farmer’s Market, I wanted to buy them all.

DSC_1994
DSC_1993
DSC_1988 
I could have easily spent a lot of money, but instead I decided to leave empty handed. Tim and I promised each other that as soon as we find out when I’ll be able to go back to work we will start buying our weekly produce at the Farmer’s Market instead of the grocery store. Its important to me to buy locally.

One thing I’ve never seen before there that I really liked was local Organic Milk, unfortunately it was $7 a gallon though.

We went to Publix to get a couple good deals that I had coupons for while we were close-by. This is what really made my day …

DSC_2000

The grand total for all of that …

DSC_20042

Oh yeah baby!

This one isn’t quite as impressive, but we also picked up a few good deals at Walgreens.

DSC_2006

2 Men’s Old Spice Body Wash, 2 Deodorants, a Gillette Fusion ProGlide Razor and Colgate toothpaste for $11.02.

Not bad. 🙂

Lunch was leftover Stuffed Jumbo Shells from last night and what else but …. corn.

DSC_2009

For some reason these shells turned out even better than usual. I used my basic recipe and substituted ingredients based on what I had on hand. I ended up using a combo of:

  • Ricotta Cheese
  • Spinach
  • Zucchini
  • Yellow Onions
  • Spices

It was out of this world.

Now I’m off to continue this wonderful Saturday with my family and a birthday party this afternoon.

1 Comment

Filed under Coupons, Deals, Farmer's Market, Food, Frugality, pictures, River Region Runners, Running, Shopping

One response to “It Doesn’t Take Much

  1. UUUGH!!!! I MISS that farmers market!!! It rocked. I’m so jealous!!! We did go blueberry picking this morning. It’s 15 acres 20minutes from my house…10pounds of fresh picked blueberries for $18! It was a fun outing with Sammy too, we went with her friend and they picked about 2 pounds each! So that is pretty cool….still missing that market though.

Leave a Reply

