Domestic Diva

Caitlin’s post about forgotten appliances got me excited to pull a few things out of my cabinets today. I would say that I use the majority of my appliances a fair bit. I only have a very few that get totally neglected.

Some of them just didn’t end up being all they were cracked up to be, like the George Foreman grill. I’m sure its more practical than I think, but really … how does a vegetarian utilize this appliance enough to make it worth having? I’ve made California Grilled Veggie Sandwiches on it a couple times, but its use is limited to me.

Another appliance that I absolutely love, but don’t feel that I get to use as often as I would like is my KitchenAid Stand Mixer.

185114e 
I use it when I make homemade cookies and mashed potatoes, but thats about it. I know that I could utilize it more. Maybe I’ll do some research on some recipes I could make to use my mixer more.

This morning I decided to pull out my waffle iron and Blendtec blender and put them to use.

I made Lincoln a “waffle sandwich”. I had some leftover puree from the last time that I spread on bread and pressed in the waffle iron. The puree is a combination of cottage cheese, butternut squash, brown sugar and cinnamon.

DSC_2060
The idea came from Jessica Seinfield’s book Deceptively Delicious.

I’ve been wanting to use my blender to make a Green Monster for the last couple of days and I keep forgetting. Luckily this morning I didn’t forget because this was the best GM ever!

DSC_2064
It contained:

  • A huge handful of spinach (I never measure, and I’ve found that no matter how much you put you can’t taste it so I really pack it in)
  • one banana
  • 5 frozen strawberries
  • handful of fresh blueberries
  • 1/4 of ground flaxseed
  • 1 cup almond milk

At the last moment I decided to add a tablespoon of natural peanut butter for protein. It was a good decision!

DSC_2065
Sometimes I find that GMs aren’t filling enough to keep the hunger at bay long until lunch. This one definitely did and I owe it all to the peanut butter!

DSC_2077 
Just to round out the usage of my appliance family I decided to make a loaf  lump of homemade bread in my bread machine also.

DSC_2090
I always have a problem cutting my homemade bread slices uneven. I read on Hillbilly Housewife a couple days ago to cut the bread with an electric knife. Sounds so simple, but I most likely would have never thought of it. I hope it helps make even slices for my beloved tomato sandwiches!

Edited to add:

I’ve finally found a useful way to use my electric knife now that I won’t be using it on Turkey.

DSC_2092 
Slicing the bread was so simple and easy with the electric knife and I was finally able to achieve thin, even slices.

DSC_2093

Why have I never thought of this before!?! I will probably never buy store-bought bread again. This was just way too easy.

I stored the bread in an old WhiteWheat bag for safe keeping.

DSC_2094
I love knowing exactly what’s in my food. That is one major benefit of making as much as possible from scratch.

That wraps up my review of appliances for the day. Hope you enjoyed it 😛

3 Comments

Filed under appliances, pictures

3 responses to “Domestic Diva

  1. I love the idea of using the knife for your own bread!! GENIUS.

  2. Oh I miss my George Foreman Grill! My fiancé made me throw it away because we were moving to a tiny flat in London and he hadn’t seen me use it in over a year… *sigh*

    Looking at your waffle sandwich, I also miss his Breville Sandwich Maker. I don’t know if you guys have these, but I lived on Breville sandwiches all through university. You can use anything from bananas to pasta sauce as a filling and it seals the edges of the bread so it’s like a pocket, and heats it all up. Yummy!

  3. Linda

    I can completely relate on the george foreman. I’ve only ever used mine to make grilled cheese. Can’t wait to read about the recipes you discover to use your kitchen aid. I use mine mostly for cookies, baked goods and pizza dough.

Leave a Reply

