Forget the Farmer’s Market

Today was a good day. We drove down to my parents farm to visit with my parents, my sister and my grandfather. Its about a 2 hour drive. Its been way too long since we’ve made the trip.

I didn’t take many pictures while we were there because I wanted to spend the time I had concentrating on my family. But I did get a couple of pics of my son with my grandfather.

DSC_2250
My grandfather is dying from cancer and sadly this could have been the last time I see him alive. I wanted to make sure I had a picture of him and Lincoln.

It was a good visit. My family made a delicious veggie plate for us for lunch which consisted of:

  • spinach salad
  • fried okra
  • fried eggplant
  • green peas and potatoes
  • Sister Schubert’s Rolls
  • grilled asparagus

I tried to concentrate on the non-fried foods since I overindulged last night on fried green tomatoes and onion rings at home. I did have a few okra though, I can’t resist them.

My Mom and Dad sent me home with a loot of vegetables from their garden as well as 4 1/2 dozen eggs from their hens.

DSC_2261

DSC_2260

DSC_2273

I feel kinda silly for buying tomatoes at the Farmer’s Market yesterday now.

DSC_2262

A gallon size bag of shelled pecans. (Yes, my sinks are orange.)

DSC_2271

DSC_2255

DSC_2259

All in all I ended up with:

  • tomatoes
  • banana peppers
  • bell peppers
  • Anaheim peppers (?)
  • a sack of potatoes
  • pecans
  • eggs
  • Coconut Oil
  • blueberries
  • figs
  • eggplants

Who needs a Farmer’s Market? 🙂

I couldn’t possibly eat 10 gallons worth of tomatoes before they went bad even as much as I love my tomato sandwiches so I spent most of the evening preparing them for different uses.

Most of them I froze for use later in chili, soups, etc.

DSC_2288

That’s right, it was 10:30 at night. I’m that dedicated!

We also made a big jar of salsa.

DSC_2284 
Tim said I should name this post, “Lord its hard to be humble” … because I kept telling him what was missing from the salsa until we got it perfect. The key was lime juice!

My dad use to sing a song that went … Oh Lord its hard to be humble, when your perfect in every way …

I can’t help it, I’m just good like that.

Now I’m working on a jar of spaghetti sauce with the last of the tomatoes. I think I could go the rest of my life without seeing another tomatoes.

This has been quite a process, but hopefully it will be well worth it.

Wash, blanch, peel, quarter.

That’s what my night consisted of.

I was planning on making some fig bread for breakfast in the morning, but I think its gonna have to wait.

Do you have any experience with Coconut Oil? What is it good for?

3 Comments

Filed under family, Food, pictures

3 responses to “Forget the Farmer’s Market

  1. I love that your son is getting to know your grandfather.

    That looks like a fantastic haul! I can’t wait to have a large freezer to stock up on such things – there’s something so rewarding about feeling fully stocked.

    I bought some coconut oil from an ethnic foods shop recently, to use as a hair conditioner. My hairdresser got a bit enthusiastic with the peroxide, and so I’m feeling a bit frazzled! I read somewhere that it’s one of the few things that will genuinely penetrate your hair and moisturise it all the way through.

  2. I don’t know if I’ve ever commented before, but I had to say hi! since my Dad used to sing that same song all the time! 🙂

  3. Stephany

    I have used coconut oil for many things. I have used it as a hair conditioner (used to swim and it was FANTASTIC to keep my hair healthy)… Now I use it sporadically for hair.

    I have used it for cooking in place of butter/veg oil. I still love to use it in baking. I will admit I love the taste of coconut (although you cannot really taste it in many things) so to use it to grease my pans for almost anything is yummy.

    I don’t know if it is true or not, but one of my friends who was a dietitian years ago said it was slightly healthier than butter/veg oil.

Leave a Reply

