Vegetarian Shepherd’s Pie

Its the middle of the night and I can’t sleep (actually its closer to morning now). I’ve been working the last 4 nights and I think my body isn’t quite ready to switch schedules yet. Hopefully I’ll get my internal clock straightened out soon before I have to switch it again to go back to work next week.

I’ve written before about how when I’m working I like to cook one or two large recipes to eat for the week so that I always have something I can throw in my lunch bag for work. This past week I really wanted to utilize some of the fresh veggies I got from the Farmer’s Market and from my parents farm.

I created a great new recipe that I wanted to share: Vegetarian Shepherds Pie.

I don’t use many “fake” meat products, but I do love Boca Crumbles.

DSC_2311

They are a really great substitution for ground meat.

My Shepherd’s Pie recipe started with onions, eggplant and zucchini.

DSC_2307

Like most good recipes this one starts with sautéing onions and minced garlic in a little olive oil, add in the chopped zucchini and eggplant (as well as a couple carrots I had laying around).

DSC_2309

Add in Boca Crumbles and lots of spices. I used: salt, pepper, crushed red pepper and oregano. I never measure, I just add what feels right.

The mix:

DSC_2310 

Add in a jar of spaghetti sauce. I got to use my homemade sauce! It was awesome.

I made the mashed potatoes for my recipe from scratch with the potatoes I got from my parent’s farm last week. The perfect place to keep potatoes? Under the bathroom sink …

DSC_2305

Cool and dark. Probably a little creepy if anyone goes looking for extra toilet paper though.

I layered my mix in a pan with a little cheese (next time will leave out, it really wasn’t needed) and then piled high with homemade mashed potatoes.

DSC_2313

DSC_2314

Spread it all out …

DSC_2315

Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes.

This made a huge pan of delicious Shepherd’s Pie! We ate on it for 4 or 5 days! Good thing the hubby likes leftovers.

DSC_2319

It was even better on day 2, 3, and 4. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, pictures, Recipes

Leave a Reply

