H.E.A.T & R3 Prediction Run

Yesterday I tried something new for the first time in a while. I’m the kind of person that gets stuck in a routine and doesn’t go outside of her comfort zone very often.

A friend of mine asked me to go to a new exercise class with her yesterday and I decided to take her up on it. I figured it would be better to do something new with a friend than alone.

The class was called H.E.A.T. (High Energy Aerobic Training). I didn’t know anything about the class other than the name when I showed up, which is highly unusual for me. Normally I research everything to the nth degree.

The class was a good mix of cardio, weights, ab work and kickboxing.  It basically consisted of four 1 minute segments of work followed by 1 minute of rest. There were a few sets that I felt were entirely too hard to combine together, but overall it was a good class.

You know you got a good workout when you have to manually pick up your legs the next day to move them because they are so sore!

After one hour of sweatin’ my ass off in H.E.A.T I headed over to the River Region Runner’s 2 Mile Prediction Fun Run. No watches allowed. Predict your time to run the 2 mile course, closest guesser wins. The course was the same (but the opposite direction) as our Summer Solstice Fun Run back in June. In June I ran the course in 14:53, so I figured I’d give myself a little extra time to account for the heat and the H.E.A.T. I guessed 15:35.

As soon as I wrote it down I figured it was a big mistake! I basically just forced myself into running all out after an already strenuous workout. I ended up running the course in 15:23, only 12 seconds off my predicted time.

I wasn’t the fastest runner, but that didn’t matter in this “race”.

35980_1559286899209_1146379246_31602736_7076297_n
I was the closest guesser and therefore, I won 🙂

Tim came in 3rd for his guess in the male division.

40081_1559286979211_1146379246_31602737_530818_n
Doesn’t he look so manly with his teeny-weeny trophy? 😛

1 Comment

Filed under exercise, H.E.A.T., pictures, River Region Runners, Running

One response to “H.E.A.T & R3 Prediction Run

  1. Yea for winning, a HELL YEA!! for doing the H.E.A.T class and a fast two miles!! WOOO HOO!

Leave a Reply

