Clean-ish Eating

I started my morning with a 5 mile run around my neighborhood today. Although my pace hasn’t been bad, I’ve noticed that I’m feeling super sluggish, slow and heavy on alot of my runs lately. During my run I realized that this sluggish feeling might have less to do with the heat and humidity of the summer that I’ve been blaming it on and more to do with my poor diet as of late. “Poor” is a relative term in this case. My diet is actually fairly healthy, healthier than probably 90% of people’s I know. But … I’ve been eating larger portions lately, more processed foods than usual, higher calorie/fatty food, too many desserts and too much alcohol.

During my run I decided that I would do my own version of a Clean Eating Diet. The basic principles of a clean diet are (from here):

  • Eating a mini-meal every two to three hours (5 to 6 small meals per day total) to keep blood sugar level and prevent hunger
  • Combining lean proteins and complex carbs at every meal
  • Avoiding all over-processed and refined foods (especially sugar, white rice, and white flour)
  • Avoiding saturated and trans fat, instead consuming healthy fats
  • Avoiding soda and other sugary juices and drinks
  • Avoiding high-calorie, zero nutrient foods (i.e., junk food)
  • Eating proper portion sizes
  • Drinking at least 8 cups of water every day
  • Its not really feasible for me to eat 5-6 times a day, so my version of the clean eating diet will focus on:

    • Eating whole natural foods and limiting processed and refined foods.
    • Decreasing dairy consumption, specifically cheese. (Its one of my week points).
    • Avoiding sodas.
    • Eating smaller portion sizes. (Being aware of my body, and eating only until satisfied … not stuffed).
    • Drinking plenty of water.
    • Decreasing alcohol intake.

    I began to put my ideas into practice for my post-run breakfast.

    DSC_2506
    A slice of homemade whole wheat toast topped with green eggs (spinach and 2 eggs blended together and then cooked) and salsa.

    It was delicious! Normally I would put cheese in my eggs but it really wasn’t necessary.

    My mom was in town today, we took Lincoln and my neice to the zoo for some family time.

    DSC_2533 

    DSC_2548

    DSC_2555

    We stopped by Jason’s Deli before heading home for a salad bar. I loaded up on fresh veggies and avoided the cheese, egg (since I already had plenty today) and heavy salad dressing. I topped my salad with an edamame succotash that had a little olive oil in it, its all my salad needed for dressing.

    For dinner tonight I made homemade margherita pizza with some pizza crust that I made a while back and froze. It tasted amazing, even though my crust wasn’t cooked thoroughly. Oops! I should have baked the crust before topping it and then baked again.

    DSC_2594

    I tried … but I wasn’t able to avoid having a beer with my pizza. Oh well, you win some … you lose some.

    Off to bed now, getting up early for some Half Marathon training. I’m planning on doing 10 miles. Here’s hoping I feel strong, fast and rested.

    Leave a comment

    Filed under Clean Eating, family, Food

    Leave a Reply

    