Another Long Run … Done.

This morning I found myself dreading my Half Marathon Training run. Actually I wasn’t dreading the run itself, I was quite excited to run with my new found group of friends… it was the distance that I was dreading. Ten miles. I was feeling gun (or run) shy after last Saturday’s dreadful 7-miler.

I had mentally prepared myself that I wasn’t going to even be able to run today because the Hubby wanted a chance to go run with the group since he stayed home with the toddler last weekend. At the last minute he decided to let me go instead. What an ass angel!

For motivation this morning I scoured the internet looking up running quotes/mantras and found a few I really liked. I like to repeat mantras to myself when the going gets really tough, it gives my brain something to concentrate on besides my body.

My two favorite that I found this morning were:

“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?'” -Peter Maher, Canadian marathon runner

“My lungs are whiney babies that need to learn how to deal”. – Nike Ad

I wrote on my arm with a Sharpie marker to remind myself:

DSC_2599

The combination of my mantra, the great weather and my great running partners made today’s 10 miles awesome!

828 

We ran the 10 miles in 1:31:03 for a 9:04 pace. Not bad for a hilly course! 🙂

44416_496574789324_567274324_6979040_3795275_n

In just a little over a month I’ll be able to put this baby on my car:

47540_1583815638905_1341175325_1597046_6886170_n

I can’t wait.

2 Comments

Filed under Half Marathon Training, pictures, Quotes

2 responses to “Another Long Run … Done.

  1. Great run!! I have a half in a little over a month too!!!

  2. Put the sticker on now to advertise for the race 🙂 … Great run. Hope to see you out there on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

