4 Weeks til the Race

I’ve been a sorry sad blogger lately. I’ll have to do better! These last two weeks at work have kicked my tail and I haven’t had the energy to blog much.

I’ll quickly hit the highlights of the week:

Thursday night I had a chest pain episode just like the pain I experienced before I had my gallbladder taken out. It was pretty severe. It started as a dull ache in my chest and progressed to me breaking out in a cold sweat, panicking and feeling like my chest was going to explode. Just as Tim and I got in the car to head to the ER it eased off.

No I don’t think its cardiac related, and yes I’m going to have it checked out. I plan on calling my surgeons office after the holiday weekend to find out what I need to do.

Friday was pretty uneventful, Tim and I decided to start keeping a food journal again. He’s trying to lose 20 pounds before the race and I want to help him. He told me that he just doesn’t have the willpower to do it himself and that it makes it so much easier when I do it with him. So although I’m not trying to lose much weight (maybe 10 pounds max) I’m going to be using SparkPeople to keep a food diary. This will hopefully help me keep myself more accountable and maybe cut out some of the after dinner “peanut butter spoons”.

We have an overabundance of pasta in our house at the moment because of my couponing (I’ve been getting pasta for nearly free) and we needed to carb up for our long runs today, so I tried out a new recipe last night.

Fresh Pomodoro Pasta, White Beans and Olives.

It was a quick easy recipe to throw together.

Cook pasta. Heat olive oil and beans in pan. Add chopped olives, tomatoes and basil. Top with shredded Parm or Romano cheese. Done.

DSC_2612

Pretty tasty, but in the end Tim and I both decided something was missing … a dash of balsamic vinegar.

Four weeks from now is the Montgomery Half Marathon. My training partner Marsha dropped the bomb on me a couple days ago on Facebook:

Rest up for Saturday friend—13!!!

I had my serious doubts, but I’m a go with the flow kind of girl, and I’m always up for a challenge. So 13 we did … actually 13.13.

We ran the entire Montgomery Half Marathon course, just the two of us.

When the vans left the starting point this morning to drop runners off along the course at their desired distances, Marsha and I were left standing there alone together. We gave each other a look like “well, here goes nothing”.

We got going and before we knew it we were already 2 miles in and feeling good. Then 5 miles in and feeling great. It was one of those days where the weather was an absolutely perfect 75 degrees with a cool breeze and just the perfect amount of cloud coverage. Every time I looked down at my Garmin the miles were ticking away … 7 … then 9 … 11.

We finished 13.13 miles in 1:57:52.

After the run we headed down to the Riverfront for some fellowship and beer with the rest of the training group.

47695_500049594324_567274324_7054496_4598406_n
46373_1385383716485_1288777079_30907651_2375587_n

I’m not sure what I’m going to do when I have my Saturday mornings to myself again and I’m not getting up at 4:30 in the morning to head Downtown for a group run.

58443_500049374324_567274324_7054487_4864560_n
If nothing else we can’t say that we weren’t well prepared on race day!

3 Comments

Filed under Half Marathon Training, Medical Issues, pictures, Recipes

3 responses to “4 Weeks til the Race

  1. Heck no, you’re not a “sad sorry blogger”. You are better at updates than you-know-who. 😉 …and your posts are much better! Love the recipes and pictures of your meals.

  2. LOL! You kick my butt! I love reading your times, etc. It makes me feel like a goober, JK! My times are like sludge. I am seriously lacking motivation though, now that tri season is over.

    Thought of you tonight when I made myself a big ‘ol baked potato topped with sauteed green pepper, yellow squash, zucchini, tomato, and spinach with some garlic and a splash of zesty italian dressing. I then topped it with some Monterey Jack!!!! Yummy in my tummy! Thanks for the ideas!

  3. Pingback: Montgomery Half Marathon « Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

