Portobello and Parsnips

One of my most favorite things about being a vegetarian is the freedom to experiment with new foods and ingredients. When I was a meat eater I tended to make the same foods over and over again, or use ingredients in the same ways. I rarely branched out and tried new ingredients. I’ve really enjoyed experimenting with food lately.

I got the idea today to try a new kind of “french fry” from Caitlin’s latest Swaps and Additions post. I’ve actually been meaning to try this, but I had forgotten about it until today.

Nothing goes better with french fries than a burger. Ever since our Labor Day cook-out, I’ve been absolutely CRAVING portobello burgers. I can’t believe I had never tried these before!

So tonight I combined the two and made Portobello Burgers and Parsnip fries.

If you aren’t familiar with Parsnips, they look alot like carrots except they are white.

DSC_2721

I washed them, peeled them and cut them into fry shapes.

DSC_2724

I tossed them in olive oil and salt and baked at 425 for 30 minutes, turning halfway through.

It might have been just a bit too much time, some of them came out a bit too crispy. But they were still delicous!

DSC_2728

Uh oh. Don’t forget the curry ketchup …

DSC_2729

That’s more like it!

A much healthier (and interesting) version of burgers and fries.

What healthy swaps do you make in your diet?

1 Comment

Filed under Food, pictures, Recipes

One response to “Portobello and Parsnips

  1. Will totally do this, thanks for sharing, I often do these “fries” with sweet potato’s, and butter nut squash!!

Leave a Reply

