R.I.P. Pa and Granny

My weekend started with me getting a phone call from my mom at work at 3:30 am on Saturday morning that my grandfather was dying. I immediately left work to head 2 hours south to see him. By the time I got in my car and called my mom back to tell her I was on my way, he was already gone.

I’m so glad I was able to get this picture of my Pa and my son while he was stile alive a couple of weeks ago.

dsc_2250_thumb

My Pa was a hard man. He’d tell you exactly what he thought, he never held back. He once told me that I was “as wide as I was tall”. He constantly told me when I was growing up that I “needed to get out and run around the house a few times”. These things seem sort of funny to me now, but they weren’t at the time. But he was still my Pa and I loved him very much.

September will be a hard month for my family. My Pa died September 11th and my Granny died September 14th, 2007.

Sunday morning I headed out for a run, I wasn’t exactly sure what my plan was going to be. I knew it would be a slow easy run, but I had no idea where I was going or how far.

As I ran all of my built up emotions hit me at once. This was the first time that I’ve ever actually cried while running. As I ran I thought about my grandparents, my childhood, my memories and I realized that I was heading to their grave.

I spent about 20 minutes talking to my grandmother and telling her about Lincoln and how my life has changed since we saw each other. I know she couldn’t hear me, but it helped.

R.I.P. Granny and Pa, you will always be loved and missed.

59893_1604032344310_1341175325_1642168_1925314_n

3 Comments

Filed under family, pictures, Running

3 responses to “R.I.P. Pa and Granny

  1. Amanda, I’m so sorry for your loss.
    Kym

  2. Nadine

    So sorry for your loss. Glad that your son got to spend some time with him, and you have that picture to keep.

    I cried a LOT on my first run after my Dad died. What I love most about running is the ability to completely clear my head – and on that day, it was impossible.

  3. emma

    so sorry for your loss…

Leave a Reply

