Mark This Day Down

Today has been a very out of the ordinary day. The only thing on the original agenda was that I was going to take my mother-in-law to the hospital this morning at 11:00 for a routine Colonoscopy. No big deal.

As soon as Rocketboy, as he will now be referred to as, left for school I headed out for a run. The weather was amazing!

I set out down one of my regular out-and-back routes with no plan in mind, just run.

I ran 5 miles in 42 minutes. A comfortable, perhaps slightly speedy pace.

By the end of the run my knees, hips and as usual my feet were screaming. I was glad to be done! Thankfully the knee, hip .. and foot pain went away quickly and hasn’t stuck around for the rest of the day.

Once I got back to my car I was met by a text message that I had missed a class I was suppose to take for work. Freaking great! I completely forgot, I’ve never done that before. Thankfully I was able to reschedule it for next week, but it gave me a big scare.

Mom-in-law and I headed to the hospital and arrived about 15 minutes early. She was told that the procedure would take about 30-45 minutes, I planned on perhaps 1 hour to 1 1/2 hours because I know the ways of the medical world. I was already starting to get hungry, but was looking forward to lunch as soon as the procedure was finished.

As soon as we walked through the doors of the hospital we were greeted by a sign that read, “You will be here for atleast 3 hours.”

Oops.

And we were.

Thankfully, Tim met me at the hospital to relieve me for a few minutes to find something to eat. I knew better than to try to find something healthy (or vegetarian for that matter) in the hospital cafeteria (sad, huh?) So I headed to Publix and picked up:

  • A Veggie Wrap from the deli
  • Vegetable Sushi (which is what I really wanted in the first place, but I didn’t figure they’d have it so I ordered a wrap first)
  • Apple Chips
  • Watermelon (per Rocketboy’s request)

We had a picnic in the bed of the truck in the hospital parking lot. Very strange.

By now you should all know that we have a horrible time trying to get Rocketboy to eat ANYTHING at all. If its not “chocolate milk”, he doesn’t want it and he will hold out forever.

This is the part of the day that should be marked down in history:

IMG_20101005_132948

That Sirs and Madams is my son SHOVING sushi into his mouth! My life is complete! He ate about 3 or 4 pieces. I wanted to cry. .

IMG_20101005_133404

I bet we looked quite strange having a sushi picnic on the back of a pick-up truck in the parking lot outside the Endoscopy center. I couldn’t care less 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Food, pictures, Publix, Running

Leave a Reply

