Spinach Enchiladas

One of the recipes that I found this week and decided to try out was Spinach Enchiladas. Earlier in the week I talked about how I have felt like I was stuck in a rut lately with my vegetarian recipes and I needed something new and exciting to spice things up.

If you missed it the first time, this is the list that I came up with for my weekly menu.

dsc_2781_thumb

As with all of my creations, I started with a basic recipe and then transformed it into something specific for my preferences and taste.

I substituted and added several of my own ingredients to make the original version healthier and (in my opinion) tastier.

Ingredients I used include:

  • Red onion
  • Minced garlic
  • Mushrooms
  • Frozen Chopped Spinach
  • 1% Cottage Cheese
  • Green Chile Enchilada Sauce
  • Herbs and Spices

I started off by sautéing red onions and garlic in EVOO (instead of butter).

DSC_2805

To that I added chopped mushrooms (to add substance and a “meatiness”.)

DSC_2803

Next I added the defrosted, drained (very important step) frozen spinach plus a blend of spices (salt, black pepper, red pepper flakes and fresh cilantro).

DSC_2814

I decided to use 1% cottage cheese in the recipe instead of ricotta cheese to cut down on the fat. I’ve never been a fan of cottage cheese, but I figured with all the herbs and spices it wouldn’t be a noticeable substitution. I was right! It definitely worked.

I wasn’t sure how much I would need so I started by adding and mixing in 1 cup of cottage cheese at a time.

DSC_2819

I ended up using 3 cups to get the consistency that I was going for.

DSC_2820

I used flour tortillas instead of corn (personal preference). I added about 3/4 cup of the mixture to each one, rolled and placed in a baking dish.

DSC_2823 DSC_2824

I poured green enchilada sauce on top and topped with a little shredded cheese. Green enchilada sauce > Red sauce.

DSC_2826 DSC_2832

The recipe made 8 large enchiladas!

I baked them in a preheated oven at 375 degrees for 20 minutes, topped with sour cream, green onions and a dash of hot sauce.

DSC_2833

Holy moly! These were AH-MAAAA-ZING!

These are definitely going in a regular rotation. Give them a try, you won’t be disappointed. I definitely recommend the cottage cheese substitution, you won’t notice a difference. I promise!

Leave a comment

Filed under pictures, Recipes

Leave a Reply

