The Meal I’ve Been Craving …

I’ve been thinking about this meal for about a week. I found this little packet of seasonings way back in my cupboard and it got me all excited.

DSC_2872

Spicy Peanut Bake!

Tim and I used to LOOOVE this stuff on boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Its like Thai “Shake n Bake”, but way awesomer!

When I first found the packet I thought, “too bad we’ll never eat this again”. I started to throw it out, and then I realized I could try it on tofu.

Another thing I have been craving is okra and tomatoes. Although I’ve never really eaten okra and tomatoes in  my life, and probably wouldn’t have unless I was forced … I tasted some at work a couple weeks ago and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head.

DSC_2867

I decided to combine my cravings into one meal, along with some yellow squash that I’ve been needing to use up.

With the squash I normally sauté it in olive oil with onions and season it with lemon pepper, but today I wanted to do something different but still simple. I used this recipe.

The results:

DSC_2874

Kind of a mushy looking lunch. But I swear it was good!

The star of the show was actually the okra and tomatoes. The tofu was good, but the seasonings were sweeter and not as spicy as I remember it being (maybe because its been in my cabinet for over a year?).

I’m taking the leftovers to work for dinner. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Food, pictures, products

One response to “The Meal I’ve Been Craving …

  1. Marion Crutchfield

    Wow Amanda you’re going to have to show me how you prepare tofu. I haven’t ventured into tofu cooking, crazy since my mom is japanese. She use to make it all the time but I never watched her.

Leave a Reply

