Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

I might not have the Christmas decorations packed away yet, but atleast I finally got rid of the fall decor. I decided earlier in the week since it was January I should probably go ahead and get the pumpkins off of my front porch. I started to throw them away and on my way to the trash I changed my mind and decided I’d turn them into dinner instead.

I found this recipe on All Recipes for Pumpkin Black Bean soup and thought I’d give it a try. Once I googled how to cook pumpkin I was on my way. In hindsight, next time I’ll just use the canned pumpkin that the recipe originally called for.

I cut my pumpkins into big chunks and baked them in the oven at 300 degrees for about 1 1/2 hours.

P1010564 P1010563

 

Yes, one of my pumpkins had Lincoln’s name on it 🙂

After a long baking session they looked like this:

P1010565
I washed and saved the pumpkin seeds to roast as well. I found it easiest to throw everything in a colander and then rinse off the pumpkin guts.

P1010561
I roasted the seeds in a mixture of butter, garlic powder and Tony Chachere’s creole seasoning.

tony-chacheres-original-creole-seasoning1
It really is great on everything!

Back to the soup:

I used dried beans (rehydrated and cooked) to make the soup super cheap!

Puree one can of chili-ready tomatoes and 2 cans-worth of black beans (I used the tomato can to measure) in the food processor.  Mix in to a large pot with one can of black beans, sautéed onions, pumpkin puree, and broth (I used vegetable). I forgot to add the vinegar that the recipe called for and it was definitely missed. I ended up adding lime juice straight into my bowl.

I added in plenty of extra spices: cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper and garlic.

P1010581
It turned out awesome! I’ll definitely make this recipe again, but I think next time I’ll splurge and use canned pumpkin instead of real pumpkins. Its definitely worth the extra money because cutting a pumpkin into to chunks is much harder than it sounds!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Pumpkin Black Bean Soup

  1. I put Tony’s on EVERYTHING. Have you tried it on pizza?!

  2. Yum! I love pumpkin soup – never had it with black beans. Thanks for sharing – I’m going to try this one!

Leave a Reply

