Cruising the Creekwalk 5K – 2011

So forget all that silly stuff I said yesterday. Holding back doesn’t really fit my personality … ask my husband. Maybe I’ll try next time.

P1010685

creekwalk

It was a chilly 30 degrees or so at the start of the Cruising the Creekwalk 5K. I never know how to dress in that weather. I’m freezing cold the first 10 minutes or so and then I get boiling hot, it happens to me every time.

The cold weather didn’t seem to keep anyone away though. There were over 400 registrants for the race which is only in its 4th year.

P1010669

Can you spot me?

I ended up running hard, but unlike some other races I’ve done it felt (mostly) good. I still felt like I wasn’t going to make the last 1/4 mile, which I guess means I did my best and held nothing back.

My splits were – 7:08, 7:30 and 6:56!

As far as I know this is the first time ever that I’ve run a sub-7 minute mile! I swore that one day I would, and it happened today. Funny thing is I didn’t even see it on my Garmin when it beeped. I actually didn’t realize it until on the way home.

After the race I ran the 1 mile fun run also just to stretch out my legs a bit. They were feeling crampy after the 5K.

We all headed in to the award ceremony and filled up on food. Unfortunately I didn’t win a door prize this year. Boo! 😦
Last year I won one and Tim won one which more than covered our registration fees. I was hoping to do the same again this year.

P1010681

I managed to will myself to stay away from the doughnuts and pizza and filled up on fruit instead.

P1010677

I was HANGRY again by the time I got home and made a big taco salad with black beans and corn. I didn’t even pause to take a picture.

I’m scheduled to do a 9 miler tomorrow. Its been since October when I’ve run more than 6 miles so I’m a little nervous about it. I’m trying to decide if I can be ready to run another half marathon in February. Tomorrow will tell alot.

2 Comments

Filed under 5K, pictures, Races

2 responses to “Cruising the Creekwalk 5K – 2011

  1. That is an awesome time! I wish I were as fast as you are!

  2. Well done on an awesome race!

Leave a Reply

