Back to the Mill

I’ve had a lovely 8 days off of work, but I have to go back to the mill (or baby mill as we lovingly call it) tomorrow night. I decided to celebrate my last night of freedom for the week I would cook a special dinner tonight.

Tim and I (mostly I) have been really focusing on spending less money lately. My goal is to eliminate all of our debt and save up one year of my salary. So far we have paid off all of our debt except for my student loan (which seems silly to worry about at less than 2% interest) and our mortgage. We’ve been able to successfully put all of my income into savings since my gallbladder surgery in June!

One way we’ve been able to save money is by using coupons and stockpiling items when they are on sale so that we don’t ever (hopefully) have to spend full price.

This was my loot on my couponing trip today:

P1010752

I spent $51.50 on all this and saved $75.11!

This total includes a few high priced items and splurges including 2 packs of diapers and this (which cost almost 30% of my weekly grocery bill):

P1010754

Our special dinner tonight was Grilled Bourbon Salmon fillets, warm arugula salad with caramelized onion, toasted pecans and balsamic reduction, and roasted new potatoes.

DSC_0028

It didn’t turn out quite as pretty as I would have liked. The fish stuck to the grill some even though I thought I oiled it up well, I guess I’m still getting used to cooking meat again. But O.M.G it was gooood! And still way cheaper than going out for a nice meal at a restaurant.

It was just the fancy dinner I needed after a hard 5.5 mile run on the treadmill tonight.

Leave a comment

Filed under Coupons, Deals, Food, Frugality, pictures

Leave a Reply

