One Now … One Later

Today ends my week’s worth of cooking. I’m back to work tonight and the family will be eating leftovers for the next 3 nights. Thankfully my husband will eat pretty much anything and doesn’t complain and the toddler eats pretty much nothing. So its win, win.

For my meals this week I tried to plan budget friendly recipes that were different enough from each other to stay interesting but used a lot of the same ingredients in different ways. I also made a point to eat from my pantry items as much as possible.

My husband has promised me that this weekend he is going to start turning our garage into a stockpile room for me.

I want this:

stockpile 
(source)

That looks like a little piece of heaven to me!

My meals this week included:

Stuffed Bell Peppers
BBQ chicken breasts and veggies
Lentils with Baked Eggs <—didn’t like
Cuban Sandwiches
White Chili <— OMG kind of good.
Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs with Corn and Chilies.

P1030074 P1030079
P1030092 P1030152

Today I rounded it out by making a really easy quiche recipe.

P1030165

I made 2, one for now and one to freeze for later.

Ham & Swiss Quiche
Ingredients for 2 Quiches:

  1. Frozen Pie Crust (2 pack)
  2. 5 eggs
  3. 1/2 cup egg substitute (or you could use 7 eggs)
  4. 12 oz evaporated milk
  5. 8 oz deli sliced ham chopped (I used a little more, but it was a bit too much)
  6. 4-5 oz of Swiss cheese shredded or chopped (I used leftover slices and chopped them)
  7. 3 Tbsp flour
  8. Pinch of salt, pepper and ground nutmeg.

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350.
  2. Whish all ingredients together.
  3. Pour into pie crusts
  4. Bake for 35 minutes. Let cool for 5 minutes.

I served mine with roasted vegetables. And now I have a 2nd quiche to freeze for a meal in a couple of weeks.

P1030174
Naptime!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “One Now … One Later

  1. Thank you thank you! This looks fabulous! I’m excited to make it 🙂 I also found a broccoli quiche recipe online at allrecipes.com…to go along with budget-friendly recipes!

    My mom has that dream pantry you want, LOL! I would love something like that too, but for now I’ll settle for getting a second fridge!

Leave a Reply

