Centerpoint Challenge Half Marathon

I know, I know … its been a while. Remember me? I’m that chick that used to write that blog you used to read. I have no excuse. I will do better.

Yesterday I completed my 5th Half Marathon!

This was a local Half Marathon in its first year. Last year the same race offered a 5K and a 10K, I did the 10K. This year they stepped it up to a 5K and a Half Marathon.

I did not train for this race, my thought was that I would go out and have a good time and see what I can do on a whim. But honestly, I’ve been feeling unmotivated lately to follow a strict training plan. For the past couple of races (Mercedes Half and this one) I’ve not been able to bring myself to follow a regimen. Sometimes I enjoy the structure of a plan, and other times I find that it takes the fun out of it. Lately I’ve been all about the fun!

DSC_0097

190134_1933396578210_1341175325_2264825_2129359_s  DSC_0088

As I wrote on DailyMile

centerpointdm

My splits were: 7:28, 7:47, 7:35, 7:33, 7:40, 7:42, 7:43, 7:50, 8:02, 8:01, 8:06, 8:20, 8:07.

I finished in 1:42:28.

Can you see that wall?

My biggest problem, and one that I must remedy before running any more big races, is that my feet hurt soooo bad when I run more than about 8 miles. The friction of my sock rubbing against my shoe is unbearable pain. I’ve tried every type of running sock that I can think of and no matter what this happens. I need to get this problem resolved immediately! Any suggestions?

The one thing I haven’t tried is wearing more than 1 pair of socks for extra cushion. Anyone have any experience with that? I’m afraid it will make my shoes too tight, but I’m willing to give it a try.

All in all, I’m proud of my race. Happy to have another Half Marathon under my belt and happy for another day with the ability to run.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Centerpoint Challenge Half Marathon

  1. Hilary

    GREAT race! I love that running for fun garners you so much hardware. Regarding the feet… I bet you’ve tried them but I have to mention Drymax hyperthin socks. They’re the only ones I wear and today got to test them in the pouring rain — still performed wonderfully. Then I have to mention my dad (he was a marathoner in the 70s and 80s), who thinks socks are a bad idea altogether. Guess it depends on the shoe. I also use Ghost 3’s for my longer runs and can’t imagine going sock-free in them. But I’ve never tried, either. Hm. The Drymax socks are more hosiery than sock. Maybe try “less” as well as “more” (two socks). The idea of cushion might be where this record is skipping in your head… You’ll find a solution! Aaaaand don’t forget to revel in your fabulous race.

  2. I wear Under Armour Heat Gear Endurance Socks for my long runs, and they work for me. I ordered them from the Under Armour website.

  3. Stephanie

    Congrats on your race. 5 half-marathons is awesome! Keep it up. I enjoy reading your blog and miss it when you are AWOL for a long time. I am only an amateur runner so I don’t have any advice for your sock problem, but I hope you find a solution soon.

  4. Have you tried putting moleskin on your feet? I did the Breast Cancer 3-Day walk a few years ago and that’s what they suggested so I tried it. I must have walked over 500 miles just during the training alone and once I started using moleskin I had no more friction problems with my socks. It completely eliminated any kind of rubbing whatsoever, and you can get it in pretty thin layers depending where on your feet you have the issue. Also, I lubed my feet up with BodyGlide – another great friction reducer – you can get it at any sporting goods store.

  5. And congrats on all of your races – you’re inspirational!!

  6. Congrats on your races! I love racing as well.

Leave a Reply

