Asian Lettuce Wraps

I have been absolutely craving lettuce wraps for the past couple of weeks. I went to Birmingham recently to visit a friend and had some amazing wraps at a restaurant there called Stix. My friend Vanessa and I couldn’t decide between the Lettuce Wraps on the menu and the Cabbage Wraps. So we got both. I’m still not sure which ones I liked better, they were both so good.

P1030362
Last night for dinner I decided to try my hand at recreating my own lettuce wraps. I used this recipe as a guide.

Ingredients included:

  • 1 pound very lean ground beef
  • head of lettuce
  • 1 bag of broccoli slaw (not in original recipe, wanted to add more texture and veggies)
  • 1 large onion chopped
  • green onion, chopped
  • Soy sauce, white wine vinger, hoisin sauce, ponzu sauce.

DSC_0355

1. Brown ground beef and cook onions together.
2. Steam broccoli slaw in the microwave in 1 tablespoon of water, in a microwaveable container with lid just slightly open on one corner.
3. Add sauces to beef mixture. I didn’t measure anything of course, but I will say that I added mostly soy and hoisin sauce and just a splash of vinegar, thai chili sauce and ponzu.
4. Tear lettuce leaves and serve alongside beef mixture.

DSC_0368

I topped my beef mixture with crunchy chow mein noodles. It was perfect!

DSC_0371
I can definitely see myself craving this on a regular basis!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Asian Lettuce Wraps

  1. Looks delicious! Thanks for the pictures!

Leave a Reply

