Clean Eating – Baked Manicotti Bundles

Wow, it sure has been a while. Let me explain: I realized that I was burning the candle at both ends so to speak. Attempting to work 12 hours a day, take care of my son, my house, my husband and trying to blog and run on a regular basis was leaving me exhausted and burnt out. I knew something had to go, so I chose to cut back on my blogging time and only blog when the mood struck. So that is what I will be doing from now on. I hope everyone will check in every once in a while.

I’ve been trying to do more “clean eating” lately. To me clean eating means cooking from scratch as much as possible, avoiding processed foods, artificial ingredients, sweeteners and eating close to the source.

This is a recipe I’ve been wanting to make for quite a while:

DSC_0436

Baked Manicotti Bundles from the March 2011 edition of Clean Eating Magazine. (Click the link for the full recipe)

DSC_0447 DSC_0450

DSC_0451 DSC_0453

The mixture consists of: tilapia, cream cheese, mozzarella, green onions, carrots and basil. (I substituted basil for the dill in the original recipe).

I also found these beautiful rainbow carrots at EarthFare today.

DSC_0444
I served my tilapia bundles with honey glazed roasted rainbow carrots and sautéed green beans with gremolata.  

DSC_0459
This morning I ran a fabulous 10 miler with my friend Marsha. We have been owning our Saturday morning runs lately.

280389_2197039929129_1341175325_2591668_2223289_o
We completed our hilly 10-mile course in 1 hour and 33 minutes.

Good things have been happening in the exercise department lately. Last week I had my highest running mileage week ever at 31 miles! Now if I could just make myself do some strength training. Why do I dread it so?!

Now I leave you with some pics from my camera of some other clean eats that I’ve made lately.

DSC_0434 DSC_0432 DSC_0430 259356_2112177527622_1341175325_2521000_7754437_o

Left top: Quinoa bowl with blackeyed peas and steamed veggies.
Right top: Black bean and corn salad.
Left bottom: Yogurt, strawberries and oatmeal bowl.
Right bottom: Watermelon, basil and feta salad. (Soooo good!)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Clean Eating – Baked Manicotti Bundles

  1. Good job on keeping up with your long runs! Your clean food looks so bright and delicious – you’re inspiring me!

Leave a Reply

