Forks Over Knives

Yesterday I did a workout on my indoor bike trainer. Its been a while since I’ve broken out the trainer, but my body needed a rest from all the running I’ve done lately. One of the things I love about the trainer is that its parked right in front of the TV, so I get to catch up on my recorded shows or watch movies on Netflix.

dsc_0537_thumb

I secretly really enjoy watching documentaries also, but I typically only watch them while I’m exercising. I’m not exactly sure why that is. Yesterday I came across a documentary called Forks Over Knives. The movie follows two physicians who through their research have discovered that a healthy plant-based diet can prevent and in many circumstances even reverse alot of the ailments many Americans suffer from each year including cardiovascular disease, many kinds of cancer and diabetes.

Wow, definitely something to think about!

Hubby and I watched the film together again later last night and both agreed that we want to start living it again. I don’t know if that means that we will become vegetarians again, but we definitely want to take major steps towards eating a plant centered diet with minimal processed foods. I’ve always known this was the right way to go, but I also realize that sometimes you lose sight of certain things in life. Time to get back on track!

I toughed out a 6 mile run this morning, but it was a struggle today. I think my body is trying to tell me it’s tired. I actually intended to run 8, but I bagged the last 2 miles after the stars aligned for me to quit at 6. My Garmin just happened to go dead at 6 miles while I was running directly infront of where I parked my car. I took the out today.

My lunch was actually vegan today! – Creamy Avocado & White Bean Wrap.

84698140_MtyGGVIA_c

I found this recipe on Pinterest, they have tons of vegetarian and other healthy recipes.

The original recipe can be found here.

I made the recipe more simple by cutting out some of the unnecessary ingredients like cheese. I simply shredded the cabbage and tossed it with some shredded carrots and a little Apple cider vinegar. Mashed the white beans and pureed those with garlic, salt, pepper and red pepper flakes. I painted my wrap with the bean mixture, piled on the slaw and some sliced avocado. Tada!

Mine never looks quite as good as the picture, but here’s my creation:

DSC_0835

Super good!

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Movies, pictures, vegetarian

2 responses to “Forks Over Knives

  1. Pensguys

    Here is a link to a review I heard about re: Forks over Knives. Thought you might be interested being a science-y nurse and all.

    http://rawfoodsos.com/2011/09/22/forks-over-knives-is-the-science-legit-a-review-and-critique/

  2. Hi Amanda,

    I thought you might be interested in my documentary as well. It’s called Chow Down and it’s about people who are trying to reverse chronic diseases with a plant-based diet. I’ll put a link to the trailer and the film (on Hulu) below.

    I hope you enjoy it!

    Julia

    http://www.chowdownmovie.com/trailer
    http://www.hulu.com/chow-down

    Root for Charles, John, and Garnet as they try to buck the system of pills and procedures and outfox their heart disease and diabetes. When their doctors inform them that they can’t get better, our intrepid trio tells the doctors to think again. With lighthearted animation, piercing expert interviews and a feisty attitude, Chow Down is the moving story of the success you can achieve when you rewrite the recipe for a healthy life.

Leave a Reply

