Marathon Training

I did something crazy this morning. I registered for a freaking marathon. That is 8 freaking weeks away! Freak, freak, freak.

Aaaaaaaaaaah.

I semi-decided last Saturday that I would do the Rocket City Marathon in Huntsville, Alabama on December 10th. Actually the idea didn’t sound good to me at all when it was first presented, but I succumbed (succame? LOL) to peer pressure.

I am going to base my training off of Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 Marathon training plan. Since the race is only 8 weeks away I’m picking up the training there. Today called for a 15 mile run.

Got it done without incident, unless you count the little blister on my right foot and the fact that I almost got creamed by a couple buses.

ef3270860a84a210f50992fe2a6aae7d
Barbara and I after 15 miles

317072_10150360136478739_825018738_8138850_851731568_n

We had a quick breakfast at our favorite post-run spot, The Deli at Alley Station. I really should have taken a pic of that, I ordered hashbrowns and got what seemed to be about a quarter size amount. I could have eaten atleast 4 times that much. It was pretty humorous at the time.

Since I left the restaurant still hungry I definitely needed a filling lunch.

2011-10-15 13.24.51
Mmmm, sushi!

I’ve been doing pretty good on my veg kick lately and wanted to stick to it so I got a mixed vegetable roll. I’m pretty sure it contained cucumber, something pickled (maybe asparagus) and egg. It was super good, but what isn’t with the right amount of soy/wasabi?

The hubby and I also split some Tofu Pad Thai and Cashew Vegetables.

2011-10-15 13.30.32 2011-10-15 13.30.48

2011-10-15 13.34.26

Two birthday parties later and I’m pretty much pooped. As a matter of fact I can’t seem to remove myself from this chair. Maybe my house will clean itself and my dinner will cook itself … one can dream.

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Marathon Training

3 responses to “Marathon Training

  1. You can do it!!!! You will kick that marathon’s ass. I know you will.

  2. Yep, you’re a freak. Consider it that a compliment.

  3. DAVID G. FLACK

    Love you girl. My second marathon is 2 weeks away. I did mt first last year. If I did one so can you.

Leave a Reply

