Reassess the Situation

Thank goodness my child has learned to play Wii Resort (the $75 reward for pooping in the potty at the movie theater if you’ll recall) by himself so that I can have about an hour of uninterrupted time to be productive update my blog.

I really don’t like talking about being on a diet anymore on my blog, which is odd considering that’s the way it started originally. When I look back at my first posts I’m actually kind of disgusted with it. I ate way too much processed, unnatural food and called it healthy for the whole world to see. (So please kindly ignore all posts pre-2010). By educating myself through books and films such as Food Inc., Forks Over Knives, and Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer, I now know that my way of looking at food was wrong. I don’t mean just in a vegetarian vs. non-vegetarian sense, but more in a “what foods provide the most healthy nutrition for my body and will fuel it best?” kind of way.

I used to truly believe that I was eating healthy when I ate fat free hotdogs with 100 calorie bun, baked potato chips and pudding pack for lunch everyday. Now I know better.

Aaaaaanywho … I bring this up because I’m about 10 pounds over the weight I’d like to be right now. I’m training for a marathon and I feel like I’ll feel better and lighter if I lose 10-15 pounds. Up until this point I would say that my main focus has been to maintain my current weight. Now that I’m starting to try to lose again I need to reassess the situation. I want to focus on maximizing the nutrition in my calories instead of eating the most amount of food for the lowest amount of calories like I did before.

This morning I spent some time thinking about my eating and realized what my two pitfalls are:
1. Alcohol
2. Peanut Butter.

I just have no willpower or moderation when it comes to these 2 things.

For this reason I have decided that I’m going to limit myself to only eating peanut butter if its measured out and within my calorie goal for the day. No more after dinner peanut butter spoons for me!

Also I’m cutting out the alcohol for a week until we go on vacation and then after vacation I’ll reassess again, but I’m thinking I’ll try to go until my birthday which is 11/21.

I don’t want to be totally unrealistic so I set short attainable goals and specifics. Once I reach those goals, I’ll reassess again.

Today’s eats have included:

9916_1244402553790_1341175325_711434_7168348_n

Green Monster for breakfast which includes 1 cup Almond Milk, 1 banana, 2 big handfuls of spinach and a scoop of Amazing Grass Green Superfood.

DSC_1068

I picked up this snack mix at TJ Maxx today. It includes soy beans, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds.

I could write a whole blog about my love for TJ Maxx, but I’ll spare you. But the picture speaks for itself.

DSC_1056

Lunch was super simple:

DSC_1058

1 cup of cooked quinoa topped with Hoppin’ John (tomatoes, blackeye peas, onions and jalapenos) and a side of veggies.

Now I’m off to try something new that kind of scares me. You’ll hear about it soon.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Weight

2 responses to “Reassess the Situation

  1. hilary

    I drink a lot of beer. I had to give it up nearly entirely (down to one or two, literally, once a week) over the summer because of my job. It wasn’t nearly as hard to let it go as people seem to try to make it out to be — and the amount of food I could eat while still inadvertently losing weight/girth was amazing. Also, I wasn’t running nearly as much as I do at home. Wacky.

  2. My problem is that at night I get bored and I finally get a chance to sit down after a long day of running/cleaning/child rearing and I just want to sit and drink a glass (or bottle) of wine. LOL

Leave a Reply

