Long Run Prep Work

Tonight I was thinking about the amount of preparation it takes to do a long run or race. Luckily I’ve almost got it down to a science and at this point I rarely forget something, but it still happens occasionally. I always lay out all of my stuff the night before a run to minimize the chance of forgetting something.

DSC_1544

This is my stuff for my 18-miler (eeek!) tomorrow:

  • earwarmer
  • Spibelt loaded with Gu and Sports Beans
  • Garmin
  • Knee strap
  • Salt tabs
  • Road ID
  • Clothes
  • Headband
  • Body Glide
  • Water bottle

Seems like a lot to go for a run. Whoever said all you need to be a runner is a pair of shoes is a liar.

The final thing I always need for a long run is a little inspiration. My inspiration for tomorrow is this:

“Run when you can, walk when you have to, crawl if you must; just never give up”. – Dean Karnazes

Just something to pull out when the going gets tough.

Last time I wrote I mentioned that I had an exciting day planned. I tried Hot Yoga for the first time and LOOOVED it!

hero-4c224c7b497c1

(source)

More on that at a later date.

Today’s eats were less than exciting, but I’ll share anyway.

Lunch was 4 day old veggie sushi that I bought on Tuesday and never ate and a salad.

DSC_1522

Turns out that 4 day old sushi is still good sushi.

Dinner was Tofu Stirfry.

DSC_1528
Not super exciting, but tasty none the less.

I better hit the hay soon, 18 miles awaits me in just a few short hours.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

