Cornbread Waffles with Spicy Chili

I found this on Pinterest a couple of weeks ago and it intrigued me. That’s usually how my cooking endeavors begin, I see a picture or a recipe that sounds so odd that most people would just say, “Ugh, thats weird”. Not me. I say, “that’s really weird, I GOTTA try it”.

I didn’t actually realize at first that it is a Paula Deen recipe. Even better. The original recipe can be found here.

I made the chili vegetarian by using Morningstar Farms brand soy crumbles instead of ground meat. I also changed the all purpose flour to whole wheat flour for the waffles.

Mine looked like this:

DSC_1536
I thought it turned out well, but apparently the hubby was even more impressed. He nearly had a mouthgasm.

Now comparing the pictures I realize that apparently I like cheese and sour cream even more than the Butter Diva herself. Great, now I feel like a fat ass. Thanks Paula.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Cornbread Waffles with Spicy Chili

  1. Pingback: Black Bean & Butternut Squash Chili | Eat to Live, Live to Run

  2. Pingback: Black Bean & Butternut Squash Chili | Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

