Planning for Poor Planning

In the past poor planning has been the death of me. I’m usually a huge planner, but every now and then something unexpected happens and throws the plan out the window. Usually my downfall is when I allow myself to get so hungry I don’t want to take the time to make healthy foods and I eat the quickest thing I can get my hands on.

Does that ever happen to you?

It happened to me today.

I met my friend Marsha this morning for an early morning spin class. I wasn’t sure going in to it how long the class would last, it ended up being about 1 hour and 15 minutes. After class we headed to Starbucks for a post-spin latte.

302110_2637066089508_1341175325_3028770_1780783819_n 
I was HANGRY and the latte didn’t hold me long. I still had some grocery shopping to do before I could head back home for lunch. Hangry + grocery shopping = deadly combination.

I managed to stick to my list (for the most part) at the store and get the items I intended for meals this week plus a few stockpile coupon sale items.

I’m planning on making: Vegetarian Nut Loaf, Portobello Burgers and Spinach Enchiladas for our main meals this week.

By the time I got home from grocery shopping and staring at food for half an hour I was about to gnaw my arm off. I intended to make Mock Tuna Salad sandwiches for lunch, but I needed something fast and now!

DSC_1605 
Typically I’m not a fan of pre-packaged foods, but sometimes you do what ya gotta do. I always make sure to keep some semi-healthy-ish items in my house that I can throw together in a hunger emergency. Much better calorically than a greasy burger and fries!

DSC_1613
I guess you can call it planning for poor planning.

The Vegetarian Nut Loaf is on the menu for tonight. That’s one of those things that I think sounds weird, so I must try. I’ll definitely report back.

Leave a comment

Filed under pictures, Tips/Tricks

Leave a Reply

