Vegetarian Nut Loaf

DSC_1663
I’m really glad this recipe turned out well because it was kind of a bitch to make. Lots and lots of chopping, which I suck at.

DSC_1631 DSC_1627

Onion, celery, carrots, bellpepper, mushrooms. Chop, chop, chop.

Here is the original recipe.

Basically chop all the veggies, sauté them and combine them with eggs, walnuts, sunflower seeds and bread crumbs.  Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for an hour.

The recipe calls for 3 cups of bread crumbs and 5 eggs. I could tell after adding in 2 cups of bread crumbs that it was going to be too dry though. I added 2 extra eggs, making 7 total and left out the extra cup o’ crumbs.

DSC_1638
I used my Allrecipes Dinner Spinner app to make sure I was following the steps correctly.

DSC_1622
Love that app!

I roasted some potatoes and asparagus to go with it.

DSC_1669
I had no idea what to expect because I’ve never made anything like this before. Other than the crunchiness from the walnuts I really couldn’t tell it wasn’t regular meatloaf.

Lincoln even took a few bites. And then spit it out. But hey, baby steps.

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Vegetarian Nut Loaf

  1. Jennifer

    Amanda,

    Stumbled upon your blog a while ago and have really enjoyed it! You inspire me to live/eat healthier! Thanks for coming back!!

Leave a Reply

