Get Your Juice On

Mmm, Green Monster. Why, hello there!

9916_1244402553790_1341175325_711434_7168348_n

I always feel better when I start my day off with a Green Monster. It is the cure-all breakfast for post-drinking or binge eating nights. And with the holidays, I’ve had alot of those lately unfortunately.

If you have been reading my blog long enough you might recognize this picture. I’ve actually used it atleast 3 times on the blog.

I’ve actually been trying really hard the last few (ok .. 2, well just really yesterday) days to eat more healthy food choices now that Christmas is over. In general I do eat a very healthy diet compared to most Americans I suppose, but I struggle with my eating especially at night.

A few days ago I watched Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead while walking on the treadmill and it helped remotivate me to eat healthier.

As you can see the documentary is about a man from Australia who went on a 60 day juice fast to cleanse his body and lose weight. I’m certainly not interested in fasting unless its between breakfast and lunch and lunch and dinner, but it did get me thinking about nutrtion and micronutrients vs. macronutrients. I may have even purchased a juicer, as if I need any more kitchen appliances.

Breville-Compact-Juice-Fountain
It should be delivered tomorrow.

I’ve actually been intrigued and interested in juicing for a while for the nutrition benefits, and it helps (or doesn’t help, I’m still not sure which) to have a husband that is completely on-board as well. We tend to talk each other into doing things like spending $100+ on a juicer or $300+ on a certain blender.

I’m already making mental lists of juices I want to make. Apple + cucumber, carrot + ginger … so many options!

I had to get a little creative with lunch today. The only thing in my refrigerator is leftovers from Christmas breakfast. Cinnamon rolls and Christmas Breakfast Casserole didn’t sound appetizing or fit in with my healthier eating agenda so threw together some really random ingredients and created this instead.

382775_2943662474226_1341175325_3161598_1075010947_n

In the mix: Pumpkin Ravioli from the frozen bins at Earth Fare, cannellini beans, a couple tablespoons of Classico pizza sauce, Roasted Eggplant dip from Tim’s stocking and capers.

A strange combination, even for me. But I have to say I really liked it! And I feel good that I ate something healthier than cinnamon rolls, which would have been the easy out. Still, grocery shopping is going to be a must very very soon.

A good 5-mile run this morning, a renewed motivation to healthy living, some good healthy food in my system and a nap coming my way. You’d think I had won the lottery.

2 Comments

Filed under appliances, Motivation, Movies

2 responses to “Get Your Juice On

  1. I’m trying my hardest to get out of the holiday feeding frenzy… Today is my first official day. Sadly, the only way I could jump start it was to throw out the cookies that seemed to make their way into our home.

    I have that movie on my Netflix instant queue! Can’t wait to watch it.

    Boy – I miss running. It’s been a long time.

  2. BTW…your twitter button isn’t working… booo!

Leave a Reply

