A Few of My Favorite Things

I planned to wake up at 5:30 this morning and get an early 7 mile run in before the hubby had to start working. I was sleeping so well that I did something I rarely ever do, I turned the alarm off and went back to bed. I woke up an hour later feeling very well rested and realized that I still had time to get my miles in. Win/Win.

2012-02-07 08.06.27 2012-02-07 08.06.06

Today’s run wasn’t anything particularly special. I was alone, nothing interesting or funny happened, I didn’t see any wildlife or get chased by any dogs. But I did have one of those rare runs where I can just separate myself from everything else in my life and even the act of running itself and just zone out.

Thoughts came and went but I didn’t concentrate on one idea, I didn’t make to-do lists in my mind, do math about my run, pace, distance, worry about anything in my personal life, nothing. It was AWESOME!

After my run I was starving! I’ve been really digging on avocados lately and buying them in bulk at Costco. For lunch yesterday I made this falafel pita creation …

2012-02-06 13.54.06
Oat Bran pita with hummus, pre-prepared falafels, tomatoes, avocado, cucumber. I topped it off with a dollop of tzatziki and some fresh spinach leaves. Yum!

I found 2 random English muffins in the bottom of my freezer this morning, egg whites (the kind in a carton) and this Roasted Eggplant Spread.

2012-02-07 09.01.50
I knew I could work avocado into this scenario somehow. I could have probably made it a little more photogenic by adding in some tomatoes, spinach, something … but like I said … I was hangry.

2012-02-07 08.56.16
Our recent avocado obsession sparked a conversation over breakfast about our Top 10 Favorite Ingredients. The rules: no alcohol, no sweets. My list so far:

  1. Goat Cheese
  2. Avocado
  3. Peanut Butter
  4. Cashews
  5. Cilantro
  6. Pickled Okra
  7. Olives
  8. ….
  9. ….
  10. ….

Gotta work on those last 3. It’s alot of pressure. 😛

1 Comment

Filed under Food, pictures, Running

One response to “A Few of My Favorite Things

  1. YUM! I love avocado on sandwiches…

Leave a Reply

