Overnight Oats & BBQ Jackfruit

Believe it or not, I had never had Overnight Oats … until today. Apparently a blogger isn’t a blogger without Overnight Oats. It’s like the official food of the blogging world. I resisted, and resisted .. and then I finally gave in to the goodness that is the oat.

If you’ve been living in a bubble or have never read a food blog before and are unaware of this phenomenon, I will break it down for you. The basic ingredients for Overnight Oats are Old Fashion Oats (not the quick cook kind), milk (almond, cow, rice, goat … whatevs) and yogurt.

1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup greek yogurt
2/3 cup milk

Stir, cover, refrigerate overnight. Stir and add-in whatever nom noms you choose in the morning.

I made mine with strawberry conserves and banana slices. Tim had peanut butter and jelly oats.

DSC_0867 DSC_0866

I think I’m in love. I’m already thinking up new and interesting flavors. Pumpkin pie oats … oatmeal cookie oats … chocolate peanut butter … damn.

Now on to the jackfruit. What the heck is a jackfruit? … I think I first heard about it on an episode of Chopped. Probably.

Basically the jackfruit is a tree found in Asia which produces a fruit. You can find it canned in Asian markets. Its known for its texture when cooked that mimics shredded beef or chicken.

DSC_0840

I have to admit, I was skeered.

It must taste pretty repugnant straight out of the can because every recipe I read emphasized rinsing, rinsing again, changing water, rinsing again.

DSC_0846

Into the crockpot, cover with bbq sauce, cook all night.

DSC_0849

I woke up eager to check out the jackfruit.

DSC_0858

Well damn …

DSC_0863

Looks like shredded meat of some sort to me. But I’m still kinda scared.

DSC_0872 DSC_0874

Seriously, wow. I would have never known that this wasn’t meat if I didn’t you know .. know. Winner winner jackfruit dinner!

I will leave you this little video. Lincoln has watched this over and over and over today. All.effing.day. And now, it’s in my head. Stuck.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Overnight Oats & BBQ Jackfruit

  1. Just further proof… you can put BBQ sauce on ANYTHING.

Leave a Reply

