Homemade Egg McMuffins

T-T-T-Tuesday.

I absolutely despise McDonald’s. As a matter of fact I vowed when Lincoln was born that he would never go to McDonald’s ever. He was going to be the only kid in the first world who had never had a Happy Meal or ordered a Mc-anything.

When Lincoln was about two years old I had this exact conversation with my mother-in-law, she then informed me that she had been taking Lincoln to McDonald’s for atleast a year already.

Well, stank.

Now, of course, like all other kids he’s obsessed with “Old McDonald’s” and spots those big golden arches from miles away. So, he was super thrilled today when I told him we were making Egg McMuffins.

DSC_0965

I set up my assembly line of whole wheat english muffins, Morningstar Farms Vegetarian breakfast sausage, eggs, and cheddar cheese slices.

First things first. Get the eggs baking.

I cracked all of the eggs into muffin tins to make them the perfect size for the McMuffins. I also broke the yolks so that each bite will have that yolky flavor.

DSC_0969

When cracking eggs I prefer to use Rachael Ray’s garbage bowl method instead of dripping egg white all the way to the garbage can. You gotta have a little sense about you though and not try to crack the eggs INTO the garbage bowl, like I did several times. Doh.

The eggs baked in 10 minutes on 350 degrees.

Then assemble. Muffin, sausage, egg, cheese.

DSC_0981

I wrapped each sandwich individually in freezer paper and now I can just take one out at a time, nuke it and have a quick breakfast to throw at my kid while we are scrambling around to get out the door to school.

DSC_0986

Mother of the freakin’ year I tell ya.

DSC_0973

Each sandwich has 313 calories, 26g carbs, 13g fat and 24g protein.

Today I was (mostly) ON IT.

I did an hour of Box Mania this morning, followed by 40 minutes on the elliptical. Tonight I went to an hour long Iron Yoga class.

My eats today were:

My Overnight Oats again with banana and strawberry preserves. I’ve started adding a tablespoon of chia seeds to the mix.

Lunch was another wrap. I’ve been munching on wraps a lot lately since I first laid my lips on the Hummus Veggie Wrap at Tropical Smoothie a couple months ago. I created my own version today.

DSC_0955 DSC_0958

Hummus, lettuce, black beans, brown rice, grilled zucchini, onions, salsa and pepper jack cheese.

Dinner had to be quick, fast and in a hurry because I was HANGRY after yoga.

DSC_0994

Black bean burger with cucumber salad and roasted asparagus.

And then this …

DSC_0998

Dammit.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Homemade Egg McMuffins

  1. I make “egg mcmuffin’s” at home too, as I’m not a fan of McDonalds. I usually make 1 just for myself as my husband is a vegan and toddler wouldn’t touch it. Love the idea of using the muffin pan and then making lots to freeze. Easy to reheat and eat on the run if you need to. I’m totally going to try it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Christina

    Great Idea for the Egg McMuffins! What app did you use to calculate the calories?

  3. Christina

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

