Tempo, Clothes and Muffins

2012-08-15 07.11.18

Hope that didn’t scare you.

That’s just the face of a happy girl that ROCKED OUT an awesome 7-mile tempo run this morning! Ye-ah!

My tempo consisted of a 1 mile warm-up which I completed in 9:10, 5 miles at a 7:45 pace … which I hit exactly to the second, and a 1 mile cooldown in 8:55.

2012-08-15 07.10.28

Sweaty arms!

A great start to the day considering the last time I did the exact same workout (2 weeks ago) I had to stop 3 times during my tempo portion to catch my breath … for 5 minutes.

I celebrated by buying myself a ton of new running clothes.

DSC_1016

Ok, it wasn’t really to celebrate … I really just needed them. When you’re getting friction holes in the crotch of your shorts, it might be time to drop a couple bucks on some new ones.

Speaking of friction … unfortunately I wasn’t blessed with the genetic code for thighs that don’t rub together when I run. Or maybe I was, but I’ll never know since I screwed that up years ago. Anywho … these thunder thighs need a layer of protection to keep them from catching fire.

I found these cheap babies today on clearance that I’m hoping will do the trick.

DSC_1020

Can’t beat 5 bucks.

So I bought every pair they had.

DSC_1028

On principle I also had to buy this $50 Brooks brand running top that I found for $10.

DSC_1021

I won’t be wearing it to run in though, not enough chest support with the built in bra for these bitties. But a nice yoga top 🙂

I had breakfast on the go this morning while Lincoln went to school for 1 hour for his meet the teacher day. I was craving a spinach feta wrap from Starbucks, but as usual they were out and I had to settle for the “Veggie Artisan Sandwich”. I use quotations because …

IMG_20120815_085628

Who stole my veggies?

Whew … crisis averted. I found them.

2012-08-15 08.58.32
Bastards.

Thankfully lunch was spectacular. Speck-tack-you-lar.

DSC_1010

Taco salad.

Lettuce, brown rice, black beans, corn, … toppins.

For some reason growing up in the Seventh-day Adventist church we called these Haystacks. I have no idea why .. and I haven’t thought of that in approximately 13 years.

Now I’m working on making a shitload of Toddler (I mean Big Boy) Muffins for the freezer.

Speaking of big boys .. and muffins. Here’s my muffin on his first day of K4.

IMG_1153
Poor poor Mrs Holston.

Leave a comment

Filed under Clothing, Food, Running

Leave a Reply

