Another Kind of Overnight Oats

DSC_1107

Ok, she might not be the prettiest girl at the prom … but oh my.

When I was buying the oatmeal for my original overnight oats I accidently bought steel cut oats instead of rolled oats. I looked up some recipes of what I could do with them and came across a very simple Alton Brown recipe for Overnight Oatmeal in the slow cooker. Since everything he says is pretty much golden, I knew they would be great. I was kind of curious about the very few ingredients though, not even so much as a spice in these babies.

So simple …

DSC_1095

  • 1 cup of oats
  • 1 cup of dried figs
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 4 cups of water
  • 1/2 cup Half & Half

DSC_1097

Everybody in the pool!

After a good night’s sleep it was nice to have a  hot bowl of oatmeal waiting for me. I added a tablespoon of Agave to sweeten it up a little bit. Sooo good. I think next time I’ll cut the figs up some. I liked the flavor but the large chunks were a little overwhelming.

I’m feeling really good today because I finally tackled this mess last night…

DSC_1087 DSC_1089

DSC_1090

I have no idea how it got that bad. I put my OCD to work and got down on it though and now its all nice and neat. I kinda want to sit in there and eat a sandwich.

This is my new thing.

DSC_1110

Something about this combo I just can’t get enough of. Garden Herb flavor cream cheese, cucumber slices with a sprinkle of Greek seasoning and alfalfa sprouts. And cherries.

I plan on having this for lunch every day this week. And maybe next. I restocked my cucumber supply today.

These should last me a while.

DSC_1118

I always feel dirty buying produce of this size. “Yes, I found everything I needed a bag of dog food and these giant cucumbers. Thanks for asking.”

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Another Kind of Overnight Oats

  1. Jennifer

    Ummmm! You can’t leave a before picture without an AFTER! Don’t leave us hanging! LOL Thanks for getting back to your blog–I enjoy reading it and aspire to do as you do!

Leave a Reply

