Big Brothers/ Big Sisters 10K

This past Saturday I ran the Big Brothers/Big Sisters 10K. I had considered running it, but because I had already run one 10K race that week I decided against it. Late Friday night I ultimately changed my mind again.

This race is special to me because in 2009 it was the very first race I ever participated in. I ran the 5K that year, and haven’t been back to the event since.

Tim and I in 2009:

102_0228

You can definitely tell we were newbs. Everyone knows you don’t wear the race shirt to the race Timmay!

Tim and I this year:

377654_4560807341837_1708308809_n

We arrived early on Saturday morning and registered for the race. We had some time to kill so I walked around taking some pictures and stalking my stalker.

P1070019

P1070020

That’s my friend Duane, better known as my stalker, as he has a tendency to show up in the background of all my race pics. Even before I knew who he was.

P1070025

James, Kaitlin and I before the race.

P1070023

P1070017

At 7:30 we ran a one mile warm-up before the race, it was already HOT. I knew then that this wasn’t going to be an easy run.

The race got going at 8:00 and I hung with James and Kaitlin for the first mile or so. The heat and humidity got to me fast though and in combination with the lack of shade on the course, it was just too much. I couldn’t hang with them any longer and they got farther and farther ahead of me.

I wasn’t looking for a PR at this event by any means after the Franklin 10K on Monday, and in fact I already knew that this course was a long one, measuring almost 6.4 miles instead of the typical 6.2 miles. Still I was running a really decent pace despite the ridiculous heat.

The last 2 miles of the race were extremely difficult, I stopped at all 5 of the water stations and at the last couple I lingered for several seconds trying to psych myself up to keep going. Seems silly during a 10K at this point, but it was reality.

When I saw the hubby after the turn around point I screamed to him, “my skin is on fire!”

After the 10K and the 5K split routes there weren’t very many people around, except one guy who I ran most of the race step for step with. At mile 4.5 he started walking and it was all I could do to not do the same. Literally the only thing that made me keep running was remembering that day in 2009 when I ran my first 5K and how my only goal then was to finish the race without walking. I finished it running that day, and I wasn’t going to do any less this day.

My finish stats according to my Garmin (long course remember) were: 6.34 miles in 48:34.

Splits were: 7:19, 7:31, 7:34, 8:01, 7:45 and 7:53.

I ended up with a 2nd overall female finish (Kaitlin won) and I was 1st in my age group.

216830_4562197816598_619296131_n

I’m definitely glad I came back to this event (now that its over), but if I ever get this bright idea again I hope I’ll remember this note to my future self…

Amanda,
Don’t do it. Just don’t.
Love,
Your 2012 self

1 Comment

Filed under Races

One response to “Big Brothers/ Big Sisters 10K

  1. Pingback: Big Brother/Big Sister 5K 2014 | Eat to Live, Live to Run

Leave a Reply

