I Need a Sous Chef

I have spent the better part of the afternoon in the kitchen. My sous chef, aka hubby, is out of town so it was all me today. I chopped, grated, baked, rolled and mixed my heart out.

P1070048

I started yesterday by making a meal plan for myself for the week and shopping for the ingredients. Because it would just be me and Lincoln eating, I tried to think of things that froze well or that I could eat for multiple meals without getting bored. Making several recipes that use similar ingredients really cuts down on grocery store costs.

First I made these snack balls:

P1070042 P1070041

Dried fruit, nuts, flaxseed, almond butter and rolled in sesame seeds. Black sesame seeds are what I had on hand. In a moment of pure effing genius I told Lincoln they were chocolate seeds. He’s been begging for more “peanut butter chocolate balls” all afternoon.

Next up, Baked “boiled” eggs.

P1070026

I love having boiled eggs around for salads, breakfast and snacks. I read online somewhere that baking the eggs instead of boiling them yielded creamier more flavorful and consistently cooked “hard boiled eggs”.

325 degrees for 30 minutes. Ice bath. Peel. Done.

Next up dessert. I’ve learned over and over again that the number one thing that causes me to fail my entire day of healthy eating is not having something healthy on hand to have for dessert. It’s times like that when I end up wrist deep in a jar of peanut butter.

I found a great recipe for natural fudgesicles on Pinterest. There are only a few ingredients involved:

P1070034

A blender, popsicle molds, canned coconut milk, cocoa powder, pure vanilla extract, bananas and one super silly assistant.

Blend 2 TBSP cocoa powder, 1/2 cup coconut milk, 2 bananas and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and pour into molds. Freeze for atleast 2 hours.

Each popsicle works out to be about 130 calories and there is absolutely no sugar involved.

Last but definitely not least are these babies:

P1070039

Brown Rice Patties.

Grated sweet potato, carrots, zucchini, cooked brown rice, flour …

I think I might actually have developed a bicep after all the grating I did for these. Definitely the hardest workout I’ve done today. Whew.

Here’s hoping they are delish because after an entire afternoon preparing food, I’m hangry.

Now I’m off to make some homemade ketchup and chow down on a brown rice patty burger.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I Need a Sous Chef

  1. I saw eggs in a muffin pan and my brain about exploded! lol … I love learning new things (and a huge Alton Brown fan) but I never saw this! This is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

