My Monday

A whole lotta nothin’ real interesting has been going on lately, just your typical first world problems and (mostly) stay-at-home mom madness.

I guess Monday was relatively interesting. For lack of anything truly spectacular to share today, I’ll tell you about it.

My day started off with cats puking all over the house while I rushed around to get Lincoln ready for school. Hubby was out for a run, so he missed out on all the fun.

After dropping Muffin off at school I rushed over to the gym to get in my typical Monday crosstraining session. I planned on doing the elliptical as usual and reading some of my new book that I recently started, Finding Ultra. But instead I ended up signing up for a Spin class on a whim.

Its been a while since I’ve taken Spin classes regularly and my legs were heavy from my 12 mile run on Sunday, but whatever. This hard 45 minute class was just about over when the instructor announced that her personal training client cancelled so we could go for an extra 15 minutes. *Yipee* At the one hour mark she once again announced that she had a special treat for us … an extra 10 more minutes. By the time it was all said and done we had spun … spinned … whatever .. for an hour and 18 minutes.

I was kinda pissy about the whole thing. Didn’t she know that I had just run a hard 12 miles the day before and was just looking for a little crosstraining? … Nah, of course not. But then after class the instructor asked me my name and told me that I was “a beast” and that I inspired her to keep going. That turned my whole attitude around and suddenly I was grateful that I went to the class and stuck out the whole thing.

I was also pretty grateful for the killer calorie burn and snack time in the locker room.

2012-09-17 10.21.04

And then disaster struck

I brought all my clothes to the gym to shower, change, do my hair and makeup because I had tons of errands to run and had to go up to work to pick up some paperwork. I showered … dried off, went to change clothes and realized … I didn’t bring a clean bra.

*Shut your mouth. Noooooooooo.*

Ever worn a soaking wet sweaty bra with clean clothes on your clean body? … whelp, I have.

Total first world problem, I know.

Anyway … lunch was the Spinach Veggie Wrap at Jason’s Deli where I sat alone in my own filthy underthings. I intended to take a pic, but I was so hangry I tore the face off the wrap before I remembered to snap one ..

2012-09-17 11.48.05

And now for a confession …

Remember how I made my own ketchup a few days ago and threw out all of my HFCS stuff? Well, turns out my ketchup was kinda nasty after sitting in the fridge for a couple of days. I tried re-blending it with more vinegar and thinning it out with more water … but it was a flop.

P1070087

Hopefully this EarthFare Agave Ketchup will do the trick for a clean ketchup … because I’ve gotta find something fast. I’m a ketchup addict.

Notable recipe so far this week was Skillet Eggs in a Rustic Tomato Sauce with Lima Beans from Tosca Reno’s – The Eat Clean Diet Vegetarian Cookbook.

P1070095

Lima beans, kalamata olives, tomatoes and eggs? … Uh .. yeah.

Divine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Clean Eating

Leave a Reply

