Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash

It’s finally beginning to feel like fall, well … in the early mornings atleast. It’s still in the 80s in the afternoons, but we are getting there. Fall has always been my favorite season, there is so much to love. Pumpkin spice lattes, sweaters, football, bonfires, winter vegetables … aaaaaah.

A few days ago I was browsing through some recipes online and I realized I’ve never eaten Acorn Squash before. So of course I bought some, but I had no idea what to do with it other than just roast it. I found this recipe on Pinterest and thought it sounded very fall-like.

P1070161

1. Cut the squash in half and scrape out the seeds. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and cook squash cut side down for 30 minutes.

2. Cook 1 cup dry quinoa in 2 cups vegetable broth with 1/2 cup raisins. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat, cook covered for 20 minutes.

P1070164

3. Meanwhile chop 2 stalks of celery, 1 medium yellow onion and 2 carrots and cook in one tablespoon of olive oil on stovetop until vegetables are softened.

4. Combine 1 can Kidney Beans, Quinoa mixture and vegetables in mixing bowl.

P1070167

I seasoned mine with approximately 1 tbsp cumin, a pinch of cloves and a pinch of nutmeg. I wanted to use sage to give it a Thanksgiving feel, but didn’t have any on hand.

5. Once squash has cooked, stuff with the quinoa mixture and top with a bit of shredded cheddar cheese. Cook for 5 more minutes until cheese melts.

P1070172

Sooo good! I’m highly considering this as a vegetarian Thanksgiving entree.

I can’t wait to try more acorn squash recipes, I really liked the creamy texture. What are your favorite acorn squash recipes?

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes

One response to “Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash

  1. So easy!!! I am going to try this one!!

Leave a Reply

