My 1st Paleo Day

Today kinda rocked, I have to say. I was worried last night after eating steak for the first time in forever that my stomach would be upset. No problems whatsoever though. And actually I have to say that I felt great afterwards, I wasn’t sickly full after I ate like I normally feel but yet I ate enough volume that I felt completely satisfied. I’m a volume eater for sure. I don’t care what I’m eating, as long as there is a lot of it.

I got up before the sun this morning and headed out for an easy 5 mile run at Fort Toulouse. It was beautiful and chilly. I was almost too cold the first couple of miles, but I dare not complain. I finished my 5 miles in just over 43 minutes and then headed home to make breakfast.

I had lofty plans to make sweet potato hashbrowns, bacon and eggs for the family for breakfast but Lincoln had already eaten and Tim was too busy to eat. So I made a quick breakfast for myself …

2012-10-16 08.40.50

2 Chicken Sausage Links, 2 Scrambled Eggs and Sauteed Spinach w/ liquid amnios. Scrambled eggs are so un-photogenic, don’t ya think?

I was really surprised at how long I stayed full, or maybe un-hungry would be a better word. Normally I get hungry at about 11:00, and I might can hold off until 11:30 if I push it. Today I didn’t make lunch until almost 1:00.

I made a simple Tuna Salad that ended up rocking my whole world.

DSC_1067

I ate it as lettuce wraps.

In the mix:

DSC_1065

  • 5oz can of Wild Caught Albacore
  • 1 whole avocado
  • Diced Red Onion
  • Cherry Tomatoes – Halved
  • Capers
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • Fresh Cilantro –chopped

Stir and stir and stir until the avocado becomes smooth.

I used the Pinterest method for halving the tomatoes.

220394975485063273_sJaP7qoG_c

How come I never thought of that?

Anyway, the tuna salad lettuce wraps were ridiculously delicious. I definitely impressed myself with that creation.

I took Lincoln to the playground to get his wiggles out this afternoon and while he played I practiced my box jumping. It was bad.

2012-10-16 15.32.19

That tiny thing is what I practiced on. And it was major scary. No wonder my 4 year old was making fun of me. This just straight up terrifies the shit out of me.

This is just not something that I’m going to easily overcome. But I’ll keep trying.

Our WOD tonight at CrossFit was definitely the most intense one I’ve done so far:

2012-10-16 18.34.25

Warm-up: 400m run, 10 ham swings, 10 air squats, 10 PVC passthrus, 10 KB swings (26#), 10 KB DLHP (26#) and 10 burpees. I was sweating already.

Skill: Head/Handstands Walk-ups – I almost turned around and walked out when I saw this. If there is something that (I thought) scared me more than box jumping it would be handstands. Turns out it wasn’t so bad. Whew.

Strength: 5 x 4 Deadlifts – I did 125# tonight.

And then … the WOD

AMRAP (As Many Reps as Possible) in 6 minutes – 10 Push Presses (35#) & 200m run —  I completed 4 total rounds in 6 minutes.

then …

AMRAP in 6 minutes – 5 Sumo Deadlift Highpulls (35#) and 6 Lateral Burpees. Kill me now. I did 7 rounds. That’s 42 burpees if you are like me and can’t math.

I ripped my shorts. I grunted and groaned like a wild animal, or a woman giving birth for all my L&D friends out there. It was intense. And awesome.

2012-10-16 18.34.30

I’m sure in 6 months this will (hopefully) seem like not much of anything, but tonight I’m proud of myself. 🙂

Dinner was Sesame Salmon (is sesame oil Paleo? .. I don’t even know), Bok Choy and Roasted Rainbow Carrots.

DSC_1071

What a great day! It’s the little things that amuse me.

5 Comments

Filed under CrossFit, Paleo, Recipes, Running, WOD

5 responses to “My 1st Paleo Day

  1. hilary

    The tomato trick just changed my life. Holy crap. And yay for protein! You need it, muscle-building mama. WOOT!

  2. Eleanor

    Great job! Only olive oil (for nonheated cooking), coconut oil, bacon grease, avocado oil, ghee, any fat from animals. Others have too much Omega 6 which you want to avoid.

    Just be mindful that you may experience the “carb flu” if you start feeling out of energy but it will pass in a few weeks.

    Box jumps scare the FOOL out of me too….but I’m up to an 18″ step now…you can do it. Don’t think about it, just walk up to it and JUMP.

  3. Thanks for the tips! I have a feeling that going from being a vegetarian to paleo I will most likely have a pretty bad “carb flu”. I’m used to eating high high carbs. Anyway … I just wish I had gotten this going earlier or later … the timing kinda sucks since I am going on vacation to Disney World next week. But I’m planning on doing the best that I can while there.

  4. Eleanor

    Sweet potatoes will be your friend with all of your running too. You don’t want to let your carbs get too low. Paleo can be pretty moderate/high carb if you eat plenty of veggies like you like anyhow and the swt pots and squashes. And even “high” carb will still be low compared to how people usually eat. There is a triathlete I used to follow who eats Paleo and uses Powerbar gels for her race fuel but eats swt pots and Paleo the rest of the time. http://www.paleoista.com if you want to check her out.

    Oh yeah, that is pretty hard, but always just look for meat and veggies; that’s what I do when we go out. Burgers with no bun at Five Guys, BBQ places but just meat and veggies; salads and meats. Take plenty of paleo snacks with you too.

    It Starts with Food is a great book to read as well as the Paleo Solution if you like to ready about the science behind all of this. ISWF simplifies it a great deal so it is easy to understand.

    Everyday Paleo is a great website for recipes and she has a few cookbooks out now that are great. Paleo Slow Cooking by Chrissy Gower is good too.

    You’re welcome on the tips. I’ve had some good success so far with Paleo and cross fit style workouts and I like to pass on the knowledge. Glad you are feeling a difference already.

  5. Great first day. That tomato trick is awesome! Ah, Pinterest … 🙂

Leave a Reply

