Whole30 – Day 1 & 2

Two official days of Whole30 in the books! I actually started on Sunday, but just counted that as a “practice” day to get my grocery shopping and meal plan made for the rest of the week.

Yesterday’s meals were:

Breakfast: Bacon & Egg Cups with Sautéed Balsamic Spinach
Lunch: Paleo Tuna Salad – eaten in the carpool line, which is becoming a regular thing lately. I like this recipe so much though that I think it will be a while before I get tired of it. I definitely need to figure out a few portable meals that I can easily eat on the go.

2012-11-05 11.50.28

Dinner: Sausage & Cauliflower Stuffed Peppers w/ Roasted Asparagus from Emeals.

Last night the Hubby came with me to CrossFit for the first time, I was so giddy to be back at the Box after missing all of last week. It was a little silly how happy it made me. He loved it and ended up deciding to join also!

I’m paying for my week off today though, I’ve been sooooo sore after last night’s WOD which was:

Every Minute on The Minute (EMOM) x 12 – 5 Goblet Squats, 5 Kettlebell Swings. Didn’t sound very difficult, but my quads were on fire after about 7 rounds. Oh and that was after we had already done 30 burpees for time. Gah!

I was able to do a very easy 5 mile run this morning, but as the day progressed so has my level of soreness.

One thing that I learned from reading It Starts with Food is that it’s a good idea to forget about typical breakfast foods in the morning and start thinking of your day as Meal 1, Meal 2 and Meal 3 instead of Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Otherwise its easy to get in a slump of eating bacon and eggs every morning. So today I kept that in mind when planning my first meal.

For Meal 1, I had a leftover pepper and mashed sweet potatoes:

DSC_1479

I steamed the sweet potato in a Zip & Steam bag in the microwave and mashed it together with 1/2 of a banana, added a little cinnamon, nutmeg and coconut oil.

Meal 2 was more Tuna Salad eaten in the carpool line, but this time I rolled it into a “wrap” to make it more portable:

2012-11-06 12.08.55

2012-11-06 12.09.37

Kinda brillant I think.

I knew I’d be out late again tonight at CrossFit so I got Meal 3 going in the crockpot early this morning. Chicken Cabbage Curry Stew. I was so excited about my first stew of the season that I bought these awesome soup bowls especially for the occasion:

DSC_1489

2 cans of Coconut Milk, 6 Boneless Skinless Chicken Thighs, 1/2 a head of Chopped Cabbage, 1 chopped onion, 2 Tbsp Red Curry Paste, salt, pepper, minced garlic.

Everyone in the pot on low for 6-8 hours. Then the finishing perfect touch … 1 Tbsp of Ginger. I use the squeezy kind in the tube.

DSC_1493

“Damn that’s good” was repeated quite a few times at the dinner table tonight. This one is going on a weekly or atleast bi-weekly rotation for sure.

Now off to watch Peter Pan with the fam. Have a nice night!

1 Comment

Filed under CrossFit, E-Mealz, Food, pictures, Recipes, Whole30, WOD

One response to “Whole30 – Day 1 & 2

  1. Eleanor

    You’re doing great!! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

