Whole30 – Day 3

Yes, I completely intend on re-counting all 30 of my Whole30 days on my blog. No, it probably really won’t happen that way, but that is my goal. I realize it’s not really all that interesting to my friends and family who could care less about all things Paleo. But this blog is first and foremost for me. So here goes … day #3:

I haven’t been quite as happy with how my eating has gone so far today as I have been the last 2 days.

Meal 1 was 2 eggs, stir-fry veggies cooked in coconut oil and a serving of my mashed banana and sweet potato concoction.

2012-11-07 08.08.57

I felt like that was a huge breakfast that would keep me full for a long time, and it kinda did, but I went to a 90 minute Hot Yoga class at 10am and when I got done I was HANGRY!

Unfortunately I didn’t pack my typical carpool line lunch to eat today because I really really wanted the leftovers from my soup last night, and I wanted them warm. By the time I got back home at 1:00, I was transformed into a calorie-seeking wild animal.

I made a ginormous salad to go with my soup. In the mix was an entire zucchini, lots of grape tomatoes, cauliflower, lettuce, 2 boiled eggs, red onion slices and Oil/Vinegar dressing.

2012-11-07 13.00.12

Although it was a really healthy lunch, I feel like I kind of broke the Good Food Standard #1 which is: promote a healthy psychological response. I think because I allowed myself to get so ravenously hungry I over ate in volume although the content itself wasn’t bad. I didn’t stop eating when I was satisfied but instead made myself overly full to make up for the extreme hunger before. Clear as mud?

Or maybe I’m just splitting hairs. Who knows. A lifetime of bad eating habits won’t be cured in 3 days.

One thing is for sure though, that huge lunch after it digested properly has certainly kept me satisfied for the rest of the afternoon and fueled a pretty awesome 6 mile Tempo run… that and Eminem.

I ran a 1 mile warm-up, 4.5 miles @ 8:20 pace and 1/2 mile cooldown.

I needed a lighter dinner tonight with all the extra fats earlier in the day. Fish tacos!

DSC_1107

Lesson (hopefully) learned today, to not let myself get HANGRY or else I’ll most likely over eat and override my body’s satiety cues.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Whole30

2 responses to “Whole30 – Day 3

  1. Eleanor

    As you’ll learn…fat is your friend when it comes to satiety. Your hunger may come and go too depending on how much you’re lifting too. 🙂 You’re doing great!

  2. ChevZav

    NEED your fish taco recipe!

Leave a Reply

