Whole30- Day 13 & a Long, Long Run

Today was my first real long, long run for my Mississippi River Marathon training. A long, long run to me is anything over 14 miles. Last weekend I was supposed to run 16, but because I ran a fast 13 at the Chickamauga Half Marathon I decided to scrap the extra 3 miles.

Today’s run was 18 miles. I ended up with 18.56, to be exact.

198377_4918948135133_1591638284_n
I felt gooooood! Too good. I’m really starting to think that this Paleo diet has a lot to do with it. It can’t be a complete coincidence that in the last 13 days I’ve run a PR half marathon and an amazing 18+ mile run. No energy gels, nothing.

I returned to find that my car had been tagged by my crazy friend Hilary.

417065_10151146121389436_132172993_n

293796_10151146121239436_587036758_n

I felt a tiny bit self-conscious taking my son to Toy’s R Us this afternoon with “PAROLED” written on my window. 🙂

After my run and a big breakfast I headed to yoga. I love Saturday morning Hot Yoga after a long run, its really the best way to stretch it all out and keep the soreness away. I never take the time to stretch properly otherwise.

My meals today were:

Snack (before run): Cashew Cookie Larabar

Meal 1 (after run): 3 scrambled eggs, 2 slices of bacon and a small fruit bowl.

Meal 2: Steak Salad at Moe’s with lots of veggies, salsa and guacamole.

Snack: Mixed nuts from the Earth Fare bulk bin.

Meal 3: Stuffed Bell Pepper, Collard & Cabbage Slaw and Roasted Veggies.

DSC_0206

The best thing about long, long run days is getting to eat all the things. Guilt free!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Long Runs, Marathon Training, pictures, Whole30

Leave a Reply

