I Survived! – Day 17 & 18

I successfully survived what I expect will be my 2 most difficult days during my Whole30: my birthday and Thanksgiving. It wasn’t easy with Peanut Butter Pie staring me in the face every time I opened the refrigerator, but I stayed strong.

Yesterday was my 31st birthday and as far as I know my first cake-less one. It wasn’t so bad actually. My day started off with a speedy 7-mile Tempo run with Kaitlin.

2012-11-21 06.45.02

2012-11-21 08.07.41

Tempo runs are always easier with company.

Yesterday afternoon my little family headed to South Alabama to spend the night with my parents, sister, neice and nephew for our birthday/Thanksgiving celebration.

My family made me a special Paleo birthday dinner.

2012-11-21 18.34.30

Grilled steak and chicken apple sausage, collards, asparagus, baked sweet potato and stuffed cabbage rolls. Yum!

My sister even brought me home a special rice-less sushi roll from work that she had made for me. I ate it for breakfy this morning.

2012-11-22 06.45.06

Since I would obviously not be going to CrossFit today, I set up my own CrossFit style workout in the yard. My hubby, sister and I did a 400m run and then 3 rounds of 1 minute stations: air squats, kettlebell swings, push-ups, sit-ups and rest. Each round we followed with another 400m run.

2012-11-22 10.29.39

The rest of the day was spent cooking and eating, of course. My parents made the typical Thanksgiving foods: green bean casserole, dressing, turkey, etc and I made a few dishes that I knew Tim and I could eat: stuffed mushrooms, deviled eggs, cabbage rolls, butternut squash soup and roasted sweet potatoes.

My plate:

DSC_0259

It was so nice being able to eat a big beautiful meal but not having that sick, hungover feeling afterwards. Win/Win.

Of course I knew going in to the Whole30 that these 2 special days would fall during that time period. I could have easily decided to start after Thanksgiving and nestle my Whole30 snuggly between Thanksgiving and Christmas, but I viewed the timing as an added challenge and opportunity for growth. I actually really love the fact that I’m learning how to enjoy healthy holidays.

Hope you all had a great Thanksgiving!

1 Comment

Filed under Holidays, Whole30

One response to “I Survived! – Day 17 & 18

  1. Eleanor

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! all the way around!!! I think it is so special that your family made you a Paleo meal for your birthday! that is SUPER cool!!

Leave a Reply

