Paleo Sketti – Day 21

I ended up with a ton of leftover ground beef from my Stuffed Mushrooms that I made on Thanksgiving. I wasn’t about to throw away all that meat so I bagged it up and brought it home with me to make Paleo Spaghetti. I’ve made spaghetti with Spaghetti Squash before, but I don’t love the texture of those “noodles” for some reason. They seem too wet and clumpy for me.

I tried it tonight using the technique I used for my Zucchini Pasta Salad last week and it worked out really well. The secret is to salt the zucchini noodles and let them sit in a colander for a half an hour to sweat the water out. Then rinse and squeeze dry.

DSC_0288

I spent about 15 minutes in the store today reading every single pasta sauce label looking for one that didn’t include sugar of some form.

I eventually found 2 that didn’t, Bove’s and Garden Good.

boves_roasted_garlic2010 Garden_Good

The Bove’s was much cheaper than the Garden Good, so I went with it.

Since I wouldn’t be able to top my sketti with parmesan cheese, I cooked up a piece of bacon to crumble on top of it. Yummy!

Nothing else exciting to report, its been a pretty low key day. I did do a short 3 mile recovery run on my treadmill this morning while my little man slept. Legs felt great after yesterday’s 20, but I tried out my new shoes that I purchased on Black Friday and HATED them. :/

DSC_0279

Asics Gel Nimbus 14.

I’m still looking for my perfect replacement for Brooks Glycerin 9s since they aren’t made anymore. These felt great in the store, but were way too tight in the width once I got going and hurt my feet the whole time.

They might just need another chance to break them in (maybe on the road) or it might be back to the drawing board.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Shoes

Leave a Reply

