Slap Ya Mama Paleo Beef Stew – Day 22

I’m going to be honest here. I miss wine something fierce. Last night in a moment of weakness I was almost prepared to throw this whole challenge away for just one glass. But I pulled myself together and realized what a loser that would make me feel like. Plus I’d have to blog that I failed and that’s just not something I’m going to do.

So thanks for holding me accountable!

Breakfast today was my ol’ stand-by: Bacon & Egg Cups with balsamic spinach and tomatoes.

DSC_0298

I knew I was going to be out all afternoon running errands and working on my Christmas shopping so I pulled out the crockpot for our supper.

My crockpot is my best friend.

Today I decided to make Paleo Beef Stew.

DSC_0294 DSC_0296

  • 2lbs Grass-fed Stew Beef
  • 2 Peeled and cubed sweet potatoes
  • 5 chopped carrots
  • 1 large chopped onion
  • 4 celery stalks chopped

Now you know I’m the world’s worst about not measuring, but I think I used about 3 cups of V8 tomato juice and about 1 cup of Chicken Stock (didn’t have beef stock on hand).

I also added in dried Italian Seasoning Blend, probably about 2 tbsp.

Cooked on low for 10 hours.

P1070183

I topped it with half of a avocado and some of this Slap Ya Mama Cajun Seasoning that I picked up at World Market today. I’ve been looking for a good alternative to Tony Chachere’s seasoning which has preservatives and other nasties.

P1070187 P1070189

P1070184
This was an awesome meal to come home to after a kick ass CrossFit workout tonight. I overcame a huge fear! I upgraded from the “baby box” to the next size box for my box jumps. I know that doesn’t sound like much, but this is a huge deal to me.

Our WOD was: AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) in 15 minutes of 10 Push Presses, 10 Kettlebell Swings and 10 Box Jumps.

I started off with 55 pounds on my push presses and a 35 pound kettlebell. After the first round I realized my form wasn’t great with the kettlebell so I scaled myself down to the 26 pound bell. After the 3rd round I was starting to fail on my Push Presses so I scaled that down 10 pounds to 45. But I jumped on the big-er box the whole time!

2012-11-26 18.28.12

Ultimately I ended up finishing exactly 8 rounds before time ran out. That’s 80 push presses, 80 kettlebell swings and 80 box jumps!

After my moment of weakness last night, I’m feeling rejuvenated and ready to finish out these last 8 days.

P1070195

Sorry boys, you’ll have to wait!

Leave a comment

Filed under Paleo, Recipes, Whole30, WOD

Leave a Reply

